Merlin Takes a Shower

Merlin, my Bronze-wing Pionus, hates baths, unlike Bandit who lives for diving into the bathroom sink 0r at least a wet washcloth.  Merlin prefers a refreshing shower, hand delivered by yours truly.

Merlin shower shot 1

This makes for not only a very wet parrot, but wet walls, floors, cages, seed cups, and, if you are the person who not only has to squirt the bottle but aim the camera, a wet pajama sleeve.

Merlin shower shot 2

Merlin takes very energetic showers.  Water goes absolutely everywhere as he twists and turns to try to get each feather soaked.

Merlin underwing shower shot

He could care less that I was trying to take his picture, he just kept yakking for me to Spray, Mom, Spray!  I didn’t get nearly enough shots of his under wing and tail feathers, but here you can see the beautiful turquoise he hides.

Merlin shower shot 3

Whoever thinks Pionus are drab has never seen one flaunting the deep blue and shimmering bronze displayed here.

Bandit watching Merlin shower

Here’s the upside down maneuver to get water on the back wall as well as under the tail feathers.  You can see Bandit, my Nanday Conure, off on his cage in the background.  He is also soaking wet, as he had his bath upstairs five minutes ago.

Merlin shower shot 5

This shot came out with full tail and wing extension.  Merlin is just gorgeous, isn’t he?  I’m not prejudiced or anything, just asking.

Merlin shower shot 6

From the other angle, just in case we didn’t get enough gorgeousness facing right.

Quit taking pictures and keep that spray coming!

I love the way the water is beading up on his head.  He is staring hard at me because I forgot to keep spraying as I was taking the picture.

Almost out of water in the spray bottle

Mission Accomplished – water bottle empty and bird soaking wet.  Off to the kitchen for a handful of paper toweling to get the water off the plastic floor mat.

I love watching Merlin shower.  I call him my little bat because of the way he crawls around on the cage, right side up and up side down, as I squirt him.  He looks like a big brown bat right until the flash goes off and then he is brilliant blue.

This entry was posted in Merlin, Parrots and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Merlin Takes a Shower

  1. nadbugs says:

    Heavens! What a beautiful bird. Reminds me of stained glass. Or jewels. Wow. A jeweled bat.

  2. Wazeau says:

    He is absolutely flourescent in sunlight and flash-bulb 🙂

  3. Sundry says:

    Terrific! What fun! Our little guy doesn’t like showers, but has a great time in a tub. I just subscribed and had a little thrill when I saw the post title “Merlin Takes a Shower.” I have a musician friend who’s name is Merlin. Oh, the images!

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I named him Merlin because he always has this “wise beyond his years” look. He is also pigeon-toed (hrmm can a parrot be pigeon-toed? Sounds wrong) which makes him perch like a little owl.

  4. lifewith4cats says:

    Love love loved this! The fourth pic from the top, it looks like he is posing like the express mail bird. How often do you bath them? Is once a week too much?

    • Wazeau says:

      I pretty much try to let them keep their own schedule. Bandit usually wants a bath two or three times a week. Merlin doesn’t seem to want his shower quite that often, but he gets at least one a week. Pionus have a deep musky honey odor which can become a bit overwhelming if they don’t get regular baths.

  5. I absolutely can’t get over how gorgeous he is! Wow! Merlin is truly stunning.

  6. Stunning. OK, let me say it again, stunning. (wash,rinse, repeat) 🙂

  7. Sherry says:

    Wow! He’s gorgeous! Looks like he’s enjoying that a lot. 🙂

  8. Hallysann says:

    This is beautiful and looks like so much fun.
    So glad I followed the link from “a wet washcloth” I’m off to see “diving into a wet sink next.
    Thanks.

    • Wazeau says:

      Fun for Merlin, yes… but sometimes he makes me shower him so long my hand cramps up! The things we go through to make our crew happy 🙂

  9. Oh my goodness he is STUNNING!! You need to invest (or invent?) a motorized sprayer for Merlin.

Leave a Reply

