Valley Forge in the Springtime

The sun came out this morning, surprisingly.  It was gone by lunchtime, and once again, it is gloomy and windy.  I took this entire week off to celebrate my fiftieth birthday, figuring that was about the best present I could give myself.

DSCN1584

I went up to Valley Forge Park to enjoy the spring sun while it lasted.  And it was a lovely morning.

DSCN1585

When my son was young, we would come up here on the weekend and walk or ride our bikes.  I haven’t returned here in a very long time.  The park is only a fifteen minutes drive away, so it isn’t distance that kept me from coming back.

DSCN1586

It felt really great to be out in the sun, my iPod pouring Alan Jackson into my ears, the wind blowing my still-wet from my shower hair crazily around my head.  But it was also nostalgically sad.

DSCN1583

I can’t even imagine what it must have been like that winter, long ago, when the soldiers stayed in these little wooden cabins, wondering if they were ever going to go home to their families.

DSCN1587

The last time I walked up this path my son was with me.  And I wasn’t fifty years old.  I was in my twenties.

DSCN1589

The park must have had a very hard winter and spring.  There were trees broken, toppled, splintered all over.

DSCN1590

It kind of felt like my inner spirit was being reflected out there.  I am a very lucky woman.  I have a good job, a house, a car, wonderful pets, a son who I love and am very proud of, who grew into a very good man despite my piss-poor parenting skills.

DSCN1591

But more times then I want to admit, I feel like a tree felled by harsh weather, broken and battered.  I may be  surrounded by new life, flowers, greening trees, but my spirit is a pile of beat up branches.

DSCN1592

I want to be the dogwood, not the decaying wood on the forest floor.

DSCN1594

This tree has the right spirit.  It may have lost all its branches, but it has a fresh new leafy stole wrapped around its trunk. 

DSCN1595

It could have ended up like this poor tree, snapped in half like a discarded toothpick.

DSCN1596

Nothing left here but some bugs for the birds to dig out and feed to their babies.

DSCN1598

Further up the trail, I came to this particular rock outcropping.  This was my goal on the walk; I was hoping I could still find it.

DSCN1599

My son and I would climb up to the top and sit on these rocks midway through our walk.  I managed to climb up here today (telling myself “don’t fall, don’t fall” over and over again as I did so) and planted my butt on the exact spot I did some twenty-five years ago.

DSCN1600

There was a little piece of broken quartz nestled among the brown leaves.  I picked it up and stuck it in my purse.  Alan Jackson kept crooning in my ear about love coming eventually if you don’t give up hope.  The sun was really bright on my face but the rock was cold through my jeans, so I didn’t stay long.

DSCN1601

Climbing down from the rock was a little bit scary; I am not the most agile of people, but I did not fall.  I kept walking along the trail, and smiled at the few people walking their dogs as I passed them, out there under the trees. 

DSCN1582

I have to stop avoiding places where I was happy long ago.  It is just as easy to be happy in those places now as it was then.  I have to keep the right attitude.  Leave the house, get outside. Smile at people.  Feel the sun.  Enjoy the music and the smell of fresh grass and flowers.  Be thankful for what I have.  Keep hoping for the future.  Smile. 

This entry was posted in Out of the House! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Valley Forge in the Springtime

  1. Hallysann says:

    Wishing you a Very Happy Birthday,
    Congratulations.

  2. nadbugs says:

    Dear Wazeau, this is a work of art you’ve given us here. I’m profoundly moved. This is just wonderful. So dignified, beautiful, restrained. What you don’t say seems to speak so loudly to me. I’m very glad you’re on the planet. Don’t fall. Or — if you do, I wish you soft landing. On the loamy leaf-litter. On the previously fallen.

  3. Dawn says:

    Hi, Wazeau! I just found you through catself. Great post! I agree with my new friend Bugs — there is a great depth beyond the words. You are sharing so much. Thank you!

    I’ve got a 50th coming up this year, too. I hope yours is wonderful! May this be the beginning of your best year yet! Enjoy and celebrate!

    Quite a lovely synchronicity that this beautiful post is about Mt. Vernon. I am related to George Washington’s last Life Guard who is buried there. I have never been there, though I have always felt drawn to visit. And here is an amazing photo tour for me! I didn’t realize there was more to see than an old gravestone. Thank you for sharing this with me!

    • Dawn says:

      By the way, I’ve got a son, too. Fortunately he came no-assembly-required.

    • Wazeau says:

      Thank you for stopping by! This is actually Valley Forge Park in Pennsylvania, an important historical spot in George Washington’s career as much as Mt. Vernon was though. I’m not great at history but I do get a great sense of it walking through the park.

      • Dawn says:

        I’ll be sure not to post sleepy-headed comments at bedtime anymore…

        I am enjoying reading through your site! Thanks again for being born!

  4. ryoko861 says:

    Looks so peaceful! A nice place to do some self reflecting.

  5. minlit says:

    That was lovely. Poignant. Acceptance and understanding are wonderful to behold.
    I wrote a haiku about similar things a while ago (haiku are short – saves time!):
    *
    I scold myself for

    walking under cherry flowers

    with what might have been.
    *

  6. Susan says:

    Great photos and storytelling! Brings back a lot of great memories for me: although I have lived in Europe since 1992, I am American and graduated from Drexel University. I used to go to Valley Forge whenever I needed a break from urban life in Philly. Loved the history of the place, the nature, and watching the guys fly their model planes! Good times.

    • Wazeau says:

      Unfortunately no one was flying this morning. I park my car right by the area they use too, hoping that there might be some, but it was way too windy. I have so many great memories of Tony (my son) and I watching the modelers flying. They were so fantastic! I especially loved watching the guys with the model helicopters. Simply amazing what they could make those wicked dragonflies do.

  7. territerri says:

    I’m glad you were able to enjoy such a beautiful day. I know how precious they are when the weather has been difficult, seemingly for months on end!

    I think we all grow up and realize, at least a little bit, that life is not the fairy tale we used to imagine it would be. Maybe there’s some comfort in knowing you’re not alone in that realization…

    • Wazeau says:

      Maybe I should have dreamed about being the wicked queen instead of the fairy princess, huh? She at least had some fun being bad 🙂

  8. Snailquake says:

    This is a very moving entry that made my eyes sting a bit, and I love the photos. Here’s to the overlaying of old memories with new ones, and enjoying the world. I’m glad you had a good birthday week.

Leave a Reply

