Parrot Perches Galore!

Every six months or so, I restock on perches for the parrot cages.  I usually use a cross-rope perch in the top part of the cage, and harder perches down below as they are easier to clean.  Because, as you may know, no matter how you rearrange the lower perches in a cage, the birds still manage to crap all over them.  I was so thrilled to see the package from Everything Birdie sitting on my front porch when I got home from work.

DSCN1616

The cats, of course, were just as excited as I, once I opened the box.  I have no idea how Nekoka managed to get into it before Sassafrass.  She is, after all, Queen of If I Fits in It, I Sits In It.

DSCN1617

Nekoka’s triumph was short lived.  Sassafrass quickly shoed him out of her box. But she wasn’t too pleased about all the hard pointy sticks filling it up.  I like the above picture because it shows how Sassafrass has Nekoka’s back leg coloration.

DSCN1618

I didn’t even have a chance to look at the stuff myself, I had just ripped the tape off and taken out the first layer of newspaper wrappings.

DSCN1620

I must say, I’m pretty pleased with the new collection.  I got two of each perch type, and two “I can’t resist these” foraging toys, and a bag of foot toys just for yucks and grins.

DSCN1622

I laid them all out on the footstool to check that the order was correct.  Nekoka supervises and then sticks his nose in the air.  He is probably wondering why I didn’t include anything for them, not quite believing my “it’s  Everything Birdie, Not Everything Birdie and CAT” explanation.

DSCN1623

Aren’t they an awesome assortment!  I will rotate some of these into their cages on Saturday.  I don’t like to mess around too much with the bird’s cages during the late hours.  I did give them the cool little foraging pouches though.  They will probably not last till Saturday though; they are nicely crunchable.

DSCN1627

Sassafrass is much happier now that I removed all those knobby sticks from her box.  It makes the newspapers much more fun to rattle around in.  Who needs to spend extra money on cat toys when you have cardboard and paper.

This entry was posted in Cats, If I fits in it, I sits in it., Parrots and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Parrot Perches Galore!

  1. baggedemotions says:

    Everyone has a secret they haven’t told. Everyone has a past they wish not to share. Everyone has talents that people don’t notice. Everyone has weaknesses hidden inside. Everyone has a story left untold. we shouldn’t judge anyone.

    • Wazeau says:

      hrmm not sure what this has to do with my cats rummaging through my new bird toys and perches, but whatever! Who am I to judge!

  2. lifewith4cats says:

    ooh lots of brightly colored goodies and chew toys. Your birds might think its their birthday. Its funny that the kitties got into the box even before you had a chance to look.

    • Wazeau says:

      It is almost embarrassing how spoiled my cats and birds are. But hey, making them happy makes me happy; its a win-win situation!

  3. Hallysann says:

    My children always played with the boxes as much as what had been brought in them, and now Rabbitt loves nothing more than running through the large cardboard tube I’ve found and biting at the newspaper and cardboard sheets placed ontop … apart from running back and fore the windowsill.
    Nice pictures!

  4. Pingback: Spoiling Kitties | Wazeau's World

  5. HungryBird says:

    Perches are so fun to buy! It’s nice to see I’m not the only one who gets one perch for each cage so no one is left out!

Leave a Reply

