Featuring Merlin

My lovely Bronze-Wing Pionus, Merlin, rarely gets as much attention as he deserves.  This may because he is such a low-key parrot compared to Bandit, my Nanday Conure.   Merlin is such a sweetie, with a subtle beauty that can sneak up on you. 

DSCN1736

Lately his hormones have been interfering with his normal easy-going demeanor, but tonight he seemed like his normal self, perching on my knee and letting me give him head scratches till my fingers ached.

DSCN1737

He even allowed a few photos without fleeing my knee (unusual), so I decided to try to take some video of him.

DSCN1738

He tensed up, and although he let me scratch him a bit his body language was telling me to back off so I didn’t push him.  But the video was decent enough I thought I’d share it.

DSCN1739

And no, I’m not in my purple pajamas!  I’m in my blue nightie Smile

DSCN1741

Look at that turquoise peeking out from under the wing and tail.  It is echoed in the little edges of his head feathers.  Soooo purty!

Merlin chilling out after dinner.

 

Bandit was perched on my shoulder cuddled into my neck during this video. Thank goodness he kept his mouth shut or you would be deafened.

I’ll save that pleasure for another day.

This entry was posted in Parrots and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Featuring Merlin

  1. nadbugs says:

    oh YAY!!! I heard him!

  2. minlit says:

    so interesting to see him on vid – I’m not so used to birds, so it is really nice to get the ‘documentary version’! D

  3. Eiin says:

    He’s a good little birdie!

  4. Pingback: Wazeau’s World | HungryBird

  5. HungryBird says:

    He is so beautiful!

  6. He is absolutely stunning!

Leave a Reply

