That Time Of Year Again

My household is filled with feathers – detached flying through the air feathers, piles of feathers on the bottom of cages and all over the floor, little fluffy feathers on the couch, on the table, stuck to the TV, and teasing the cats.

DSCN1927

I collect each decent wing and tail feather that drops from both Bandit and Merlin since you never know when you are going to need a feather.

I have twenty-five years worth of Bandit cast offs and ten years worth of Merlin’s.  Not to mention baggies full of cockatiel, red-rumped parakeet, and budgerigar feathers which I don’t look at since I still miss my parrots that are now gone.

DSCN1900

If anyone needs feathers, I am your woman.

This entry was posted in Bandit, Merlin, Parrots and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to That Time Of Year Again

  1. nadbugs says:

    Wazzie! Make a cape for yourself! Don’t you think? The very thing, for the opera.

    • Wazeau says:

      I’d be irridescent that’s for sure! I wish I could make myself wings out of the feathers – I’d love to get aloft even if its just gliding 🙂

  2. minlit says:

    Feathers are FASCINATING – amazing and complex structures. I can understand the urge to collect them. I think every one has it to an extent – what child doesn’t pick up the pigeon or seagull feather, no matter how bedraggled or dirty it is? And irridescent is just the icing on the cake!

  3. Hallysann says:

    It’s been a long time since I picked up a feather. I’ll pick up the next one I see in the street … just like a little girl again 🙂

  4. Wazeau says:

    I love the way my birds use them as Q-tips – Merlin especially likes digging into his ear with his molted feathers. I have to add the link to that picture in my post.. hrmm..

  5. Alauria says:

    I love feathers! They’re so pretty and every one is unique, they’re amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

