An Afternoon Walk on the Chester County Bike Trail

My company recently moved its offices about five miles to a newer, better facility.  While I am not much for change, I must admit I like the new building much better then the old one.

DSCN1933

Besides the fact that the new building makes me climb two flights of stairs and hike a half a mile to a bathroom out in the hallway, it is located right by the Route 29 endpoint of the Chester County Bike Trail.

DSCN1934

At my previous workplace, my afternoon walk was basically up the street, around two parking lots, dodging cars and dumpsters to end up back where I started.  It wasn’t a bad walk as there were some lovely trees and landscaping around the offices, and a pond with ducks and geese part of the year.

DSCN1937

But the Bike Trail is a much much nicer way to enjoy my iPod and afternoon exercise.

DSCN1936

The trail is well-paved, very well maintained, and cuts a straight line through some wonderful rock culverts.  The trees are tall and full of birds, butterflies, and the smell of nature.  Even though the days have been very hot, under the leafy shade the walk is relatively pleasant.

DSCN1939

Walking their dogs, biking, hiking, rollerblading up and down the path are friendly smiling people – but they are infrequent during the time of day I’m out there so its more of a nice quick “Howdy” and back to singing my lungs out without worry that I’m breaking someone’s eardrums.

DSCN1938

It’s a very long trail so once I reach this little section I turn back around to get back to work.  Wouldn’t it be awesome to own one of these houses so close to the trail?

DSCN1935

My own townhouse isn’t that far from the trail either – I could hop onto it not more then a ten minute walk from my front door.  Occasionally I think to myself, “Self, buy a bicycle and you could ride it to work during nice weather!  It would be good for you!”.

Then I smack myself upside the head and lie down on the couch and watch a movie.

This entry was posted in Out of the House! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Afternoon Walk on the Chester County Bike Trail

  1. Hallysann says:

    Looks like a wonderful afternoon walk.
    Enjoy 🙂

  2. pegoleg says:

    What a lovely place to walk, and good for you for doing so during the workday. You’re inspiring!

    • Wazeau says:

      I dunno about inspiring, its practically the only exercise I get and I don’t get to do it every day since work interferes sometimes 😛 But it is so nice to get outside with my iPod among the trees bees and birds. Very refreshing and helps me work better too!

Leave a Reply

