Pinheaded Parrot

Bandit, my Nanday Conure, is insisting on baths almost every night lately, due to his being deep into molting season.

DSCN2012

He is irritable and short-tempered, but who wouldn’t be with a head full of pinfeathers.  I do love picking the wax off his pinnies when he lets me though.  I am very careful to not mess with ones that aren’t ready, but when I get a bit too close to the sensitive ones he lets me know!

DSCN2013

Luckily Merlin, my Bronze-wing Pionus, hasn’t really started heavy molting yet.  Having both parrots on short strings temper-wise would be a bit too much on my patience – not too mention keeping up with all the feathers flying throughout the house!

And yes, from the minute I let them out till they get put back in their cages at bedtime, except for the brief time they spend chowing down dinner, the two of them pretty much duke it out for my attention on my shoulders.  While the cats may race me upstairs, the birds get to hitch hike a ride on me Smile

This entry was posted in Bandit, Merlin, Parrots and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinheaded Parrot

  1. Hallysann says:

    I think it’s wonderful that your shoulders are their favourite perches. 🙂

Leave a Reply

