Is Dinner Ready Yet?

Merlin, my Bronze-Wing Pionus, waits placidly for dinner.  He knows I have to finish up feeding the cats and the prep for my own dinner too.

DSCN2063

He paces back and forth on my living room table.  He knows some really yummy beans and noodle mix is on the way, with a few corn kernels and peas mixed in.  The birds love corn – its their absolutely favorite vegetable.

DSCN2066

Hurry up!  Can’t you see I’m starving here?  The toys don’t distract him in the least.  Nope, sorry, I don’t see that – I see a nicely plump little Bronze-Wing Pionus in no danger of starvation.

DSCN2067

Of course, the minute I set the plates out, Bandit my Nanday Conure grabs the choicest noodle, taking it as far from the bowl as possible.  I’m not sure why, Merlin never fights for food.

DSCN2064

Merlin takes a few bites, then plants himself closer to Bandit and watches.  For a bird that moments ago was begging for dinner, he quits on it pretty darn fast.   But doesn’t he look adorable?

DSCN2065

Check out the mess Bandit is making.  Merlin never make such a mess.  He’s a steady, finish the whole piece type of eater.  Bandit is more of the rip it into shreds flinging bits everywhere type.

DSCN2069

I can’t help myself; I love my messy boy.  He’s my best bud.

DSCN2053

Thank goodness parrots have such long lives.  Bandit is at least twenty-five years old.  I don’t know for sure as he was an adult when I got him and the store had no idea how old he was; he had been pretty much abandoned there.

DSCN2050

But Merlin is my honey-pie too.  He’s such a cuddle bunny.  What can I say, I love all my guys.  I can’t imagine life without my cats and parrots.

This entry was posted in Bandit, Merlin, Parrots and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Is Dinner Ready Yet?

  1. lifewith4cats says:

    These are awesome pictures. I had never realized just how black bandits head was till that close up face shot. Such deep colors.SO sweet. Merlin is a little gentleman.

  2. nadbugs says:

    There’s no “adore” button. So I had to make do with “like.”

  3. minlit says:

    I know how you feel – well, apart from not having parrots. I’ve just had double helpings of kitty. Confound Noah and his pair theory!

  4. jimmie chew says:

    I wish we could have one or two. They are so smart, our friend has one.

  5. Pat Bean says:

    Your cats and birds are lucky pets to have such a loving owner. I love how you love them. I only have Maggie but she’s my best bud, too.

Leave a Reply

