Poor Pin-faced Parrot

Bandit is still molting like crazy and his new pinfeathers are driving both him and I nuts.

DSCN2086

He is so cranky!  Wouldn’t you be with a head full of stiff growing feathers?

DSCN2087

So we indulge in a shower almost every evening and then he lets me pick the wax off.  If I get a good piece he snaps it right out of my fingers and eats it up.

The males of any species can be disgusting Smile with tongue out

This entry was posted in Bandit, Parrots and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Poor Pin-faced Parrot

  1. ha! Truer words were never spoken.

  2. Kame says:

    Hahahaha…..fortunately I am a girl 😉

  3. minlit says:

    It makes me thankful for the tumble weeds of cat hair rolling across our hall….Seems so much less complicated!

  4. minlit says:

    Hey! I saw this on the BBC website and thought of you and your birdies!
    D
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-14930062

    • Wazeau says:

      My goobers don’t talk that much. Merlin says “Pretty bird”, and Bandit will say “Hellooo” but only if the phone rings. I’m not much of a talker myself so that’s probably my fault 🙂

  5. lifewith4cats says:

    ook, icky. But I suppose if Bandit had another conure friend, the friend would also do the same for him, right? Molting sounds like a cranky thing to endure.

    • Wazeau says:

      Grooming each other is indeed part of the bonding process. Bandit and Merlin won’t preen each other, but both of them love it when I preen them. Anything to help make them more comfortable. And I actually enjoy it, its sort of a relaxing process. Like scratching a cat’s ears 🙂

Leave a Reply

