Scratch My Head? Please?

Poor Merlin.  Nothing my sweet Bronze-Wing Pionus does, no matter how cute he poses, Bandit the Nanday is just not interested in scratching Merlin’s head.  His own coiffure is more important.

DSCN2141

Merlin tries the mimic technique here – maybe if he patterns scratching his own noggin, Bandit will get the idea.

DSCN2139

The “back of the head” posture doesn’t seem to make much of an impression.  Merlin moves on to a “scratch the chin” pose. 

DSCN2136

Bandit throws me a little look, “Yea, right, like I’m going to fall for THAT maneuver”.

DSCN2144

Mom takes pity at this point and gives Merlin a good scratch around the ears and up along the back of the neck feathers, while Bandit adjusts some of his wing feathers.

DSCN2143

I try to be fair and give Bandit a quick scratch. Merlin lets me know he doesn’t think we were quite done! Poor little bird, always getting short shrift.

DSCN2126

Smirks Bandit,  “I rule the roost here in Wazeau’s World.”

This entry was posted in Bandit, Merlin, Parrots and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Scratch My Head? Please?

  1. animalartist says:

    In the third photo, Bandit is giving the avian version of an eye roll: “Do you see what I have to put up with?” Petting birds always fascinates me because I never realize how their feathers are fluffed out, I expect to reach their skin right away.

    • Wazeau says:

      They love having their feathers ruffled, too. Sometimes I’m not sure how firmly they want to be scratched, but they certainly let me know if I’m a bit too vigorous 🙂

  2. littlemiao says:

    Awww! I did not know that parrots like ear-skritches and chin-skritches just as much as kitties! A good thing you were there to help Merlin out.

    Lovely photos!

  3. nadbugs says:

    I know you love both your babies — but I can’t help but take Merlin’s side every time. Just something about him that utterly captivates me. I’m a goner.

  4. lifewith4cats says:

    Melting with cuteness!!! Merlin, what a sweet guy. Trying to get head scratchies from bandit. Thats gotta be the cutest parrot story ever!

    • Wazeau says:

      Poor Merlin has been trying his whole life to get Bandit’s attention. While Merlin does like me enough to come to me for scratches and attention (and food treats!), he’d drop me like a hot potato if Bandit would give him the time of day.

      Bandit is a one woman bird though, and, um, that would be me 🙂

Leave a Reply

