Nekoka On The Hunt

DSCN2212

Disguised by the grass, Nekoka believes the finch has no clue that he is one pounce away from being dinner.  Well, if the glass door wasn’t there, anyway.

DSC00937

You know that Nekoka is seeing himself like this!  (This shot was taken at the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum during a visit with my son who lives in Tucson.)

DSCN2206

After a long hard day hunting, a cat has to stretch his leg before napping.

DSCN2207

“Yep… I let that finch escape.  I’m not lazy, I’m beneficent!

This entry was posted in Cats, Nekoka and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Nekoka On The Hunt

  1. animalartist says:

    A magnanimous creature!

    Love the afghan.

    • Wazeau says:

      It was a really fun crochet project as each little flower was quick and easy, it felt like you were making a lot of progress whilst fighting off cats trying to steal your yarn.

  2. nadbugs says:

    That first picture is a hoot! Reminds me of male-pattern baldness! (I’m so bad.)

    And what a magnificent shot of our distant relative in the cave. So much fun to compare paws with the next picture of Nekoka flexing his talons. Great post. Love it.

  3. WHAT! You mean we Cats aren’t cougars!?!
    Bummer.

  4. littlemiao says:

    Truly benevolent! Is he extending his paw for a kiss?

  5. Alexandra says:

    Adorable pictures! Who put that grass for him over there? It was a very creative thing to do and I bet that cat was thankful for that. I can’t imagine how much fun he had there, it looks like a real hunt in the picture! 😀

    • Wazeau says:

      Yes, my two cats have me gardening for them. I sprout a nice mix of wheat grass and millet from sproutpeople.org for them. It is a pretty simple process but they adore the cat grass, and it is my job, after all, to keep them happy.

  6. Great photo of “the hunt” from the other side of the door…..the grass tufts are a nice touch!

    Sammy (and Pam)

    • Wazeau says:

      I have to try to get a video next time the finches tease them from the porch. Nekoka makes this marvelous chattery noise and his tail could knock you down if you are close enough 🙂

  7. Mumsy says:

    Oh, Nekoka we think you are very handsome. We love the pictures especially the first and last one. That little finch just don’t know how lucky he was that there was glass between the two of you does he? Enjoy your nap after all that hunting. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Wazeau says:

      Mom won’t let us eat the inside birds, and we can’t quite seem to reach the outside birds. Luckily she provides some comfy places to nap in the sunshine else we would get really peaved 🙂

  8. minlit says:

    Love the grass pic! It’s like it’s growing from under him!

  9. Pat Bean says:

    What a great comparison between the two cats. I love it. I’ve been to the Sonora Desert Museum, and love that, too. What a great place.

    • Wazeau says:

      I really loved the Desert Museum. I’m not really a desert type person – I love my green Pennsylvania hills – but that place really does highlight the beauty and fascinating natural balance of the Arizona desert. Very well done and well run institution. Plus they had a fantastic salad bar!

  10. Snailquake says:

    That lurking-in-the-grass pic is wonderful! Worth sending in to the LOLcats site, perhaps…

  11. Nekoka says:

    Be vewwy vewwy quiet. I’s huntin’ wabbits…

  12. Thank you for following me! I do tend to talk utter rubbish at times, but I love my furry kids as much as you love yours!

Leave a Reply

