Hanging Out On Bandit’s Cage

Bandit and Merlin have very much enjoyed having me home on vacation all this week.  I exercised the video option on my camera to little avail however – I missed all the really good stuff, and it is just too difficult to get Bandit to do his few tricks and record at the same time.

For your viewing pleasure though, here is Bandit the Nanday Conure and Merlin the Bronze-Wing Pionus, hanging out on Bandit’s cage doing not much more then being their incredibly cute selves.  Merlin does say “Pretty Bird” and there is a whole lot of kissing and me making all of those annoying crazy parrot lady speeches.

Enjoy Smile

This entry was posted in Bandit, Merlin, Parrot (and other bird) Videos, Parrots and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Hanging Out On Bandit’s Cage

  1. Wow. I do miss having birds, but as someone who always had a full-time job, I dont feel I have the time to give them the attention they need. Soooo smart. I never thought about parrots much until I went into a pet shop and heard the phone ringing from a part of the shop where there was clearly no phone. It was an African Grey, and I fell in love instantly. I’m constantly amazed such a small animal has such amazing intelligence, it goes against all logic, doesn’t it? Lovely boys (are they both boys?).

    • Wazeau says:

      I do sometimes feel guilty about having to leave them alone in their respective cages all day while I work. I keep a nice toy rotation going, and they are the reason I drag my butt to work at 7:30 so I can leave at 4:00 and give them lots of time out when I get home. They are very smart, personable, and demanding little pets, but I love them to death. I have not had them sexed but their behavior patterns seem to indicate they are male. I treat them as such anyway 🙂

  2. I still can’t get over how beautiful your Bronze-Wing is. What a looker!

    • Wazeau says:

      He gets better looking the older he gets too. I adore the way he is so subtly colored with the peaches and bronze against the dark blue, and then the startling turquoise under the wing and tail. More and more turquoise is showing up along the edges of his body and head coverts too which makes him so stunning under the flash.

  3. nadbugs says:

    SMOOCH. Merlin’s coral accents!! And I just crack up when birdies walk sideways and pick at the cage with their beaks when they do that. They are the best. A real treat.

    • Wazeau says:

      He gets all cocky with me sometimes, and does this little feather fluff-up and strutting action. I keep trying to record it but when he sees the camera he always flips into some other motif. He is such a card!

  4. littlemiao says:

    Wow. If I wasn’t in love with your birds before, I am now. They are so cute and gorgeous and smart and funny. And seeing them 360 degrees, they are both so stunning. I love Merlin’s tail feathers. What a wonderful blue.

  5. What fun you guys have together…..!! You two are the epitome of “pretty bird/pretty bird” which is what the bird in our local pet store says whenever my Mom walks in. 🙂

    Sammy

    • Wazeau says:

      I just cringe when I hear myself on these videos. I sound like a crazy parrot (or cat, if that’s who I’m talking to) person. Its from talking to animals more then people. Which is weird because I do work with human beings forty hours a week. Well, with my computer with human beings in the periphery. Which is where they belong (hehe).

  6. animalartist says:

    Crazy parrot lady! They are incredibly cute, and the best part is they don’t even know it.

  7. They are sweeties. Makes me miss our Bud Bird and Annie/Andy and Toby, but in a good way. The video was fun to watch and remember how fun they are 🙂

  8. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew says:

    I love birds and I really enjoyed the video. They are both beautiful and look like they would be so much fun. Hugs and nose kisses

  9. Sundry says:

    Your video was a big hit with Dodger, our Timneh Aftrican Grey. He leaned to the screen, tapped it with his beak, tried to look behind the screen for the actual birds and made some little squeaks in response to your “crazy bird lady talk”…which apparently he is familiar with! Love the on screen captions!

    • Wazeau says:

      Funny how we all end up sounding the same when talking to the parrots 🙂 My guys love watching their own videos and other parrot videos. They are such curious creatures!

Leave a Reply

