Becoming Best Buddies

After fifteen years of not giving Merlin the time of day, Bandit has really become addicted to preening his once-nemesis.  Merlin is in heaven about the situation – he has waited his whole life for Bandit to come around.  This is sort of creeping me out.  I keep waiting for the other shoe to drop and Bandit to snap off Merlin’s feathers or something.

I am glad they are finally become buddies though.  As long as they don’t forget about me – easy to make sure that never happens as I am the dispenser of all good things eating related Smile.

This entry was posted in Bandit, Merlin, Parrot (and other bird) Videos, Parrots and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Becoming Best Buddies

  1. minlit says:

    Keep your friends close and your enemies closer, as they say!

  2. nadbugs says:

    At last! I specially loved the middle bit where they both did that scratchy thing. Does Merlin return the favor? I kept waiting for that.

    • Wazeau says:

      Merlin tries to preen Bandit occasionally, but Bandit doesn’t really like it and squawks and moves away. Which makes me feel better because Bandit loves it when I scratch his head and preen his feathers 🙂

  3. How grand! Some birds (cats/dogs/etc.) need a little extra time to truly ACCEPT another companion animal. Granted 15 years is a bit longer than usual (!) but at least it’s happening! Good luck…….and I hope everyone’s feathers stay intact!

    Pam and Sam

    • Wazeau says:

      I’m keeping a very close watch on them. Parrots have been known to pluck out their own and their flock mates feathers under stressfull conditions, and I certainly don’t want Merlin to end up nekkid!

  4. Well, hubby and I fought like cats and dogs (as coworkers) for ten years before we went out on a date…the rest is history! So strange things can happen.

  5. animalartist says:

    15 years?! Well, considering a bird’s life is as long as a human’s, generally, they are just a couple of teenagers.

    • Wazeau says:

      I only wish my two parrots would live that long. The larger parrots have very long life-spans, true, but the smaller conures and pionus not quite so long. My two get an excellent diet and plenty of exercise and interesting things to keep their little brains busy, so they will hopefully have many many more years in front of them.

      If they out live me however, my son won’t be that enthused about inheriting them. He calls Bandit the “Vampire” for a reason!

  6. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew says:

    How cute and sweet. You all have a great weekend. Hugs and nose kisses

  7. Saemmabel says:

    I’d still be careful, ESPECIALLY because they are two of different species. One could snap and lash out at any given time.

    • Wazeau says:

      They are actually back to their normal “this is my space and stay out of it” mode. I think my going away for five days broke it up. Now I get to be the referee of the house again. Just like two little boys fighting for mom’s attention 🙂

  8. Saemmabel says:

    Lol!! Well then that makes sense! I guess I always worry when I see two different species mingling together. Not too long ago on one of the parrot forums someone’s lovebird became a one eyed love bird after having lived 12 years peacefully along side her grey. I know there’s a big difference in size but nonetheless, scary. My Sachi Pi is quite the territorial one too. If she were bigger than my two other parrots she’d be quite the dictator!!

Leave a Reply

