Reid Park Zoo

My son Tony and I spent part of a chilly, overcast day at Reid Park Zoo in Tucson, Arizona during my visit.  This is a lovely zoo smack dab in the middle of town.  Tony has turned into quite a photographer – he carted around this big camera and tripod.  I had my little Coolpix tucked into my coat pocket.  Needless to say, he got much better pictures then I did but I wasn’t encumbered either!

DSCN2480_edited-1

Yes, I went to the desert and spent most of the time being rained on or freezing.  But one good part about the odd Arizona weather was all the animals were lively.  This Malayan Tiger had a huge roar – it is amazing how much bass and volume he produced.  The female was separated from him and he wasn’t pleased about it.  You can see her in the background heading towards the left.

DSCN2482_edited-1

We spent a lot of time with the birds. This zoo has a lot of wonderful bird exhibits.  This fellow was quite the flirt.

DSCN2491_edited-1

I couldn’t get a decent shot of the white peacock.  He was very handsome but refused to show off his tail.

DSCN2510_edited-1

This pigeon was in one of the larger aviaries.  He really liked Tony – he followed us the whole time we were in there.  We spent a lot of time trying to get pictures of all the species.  Unfortunately the overcast day got the better of my camera and most of mine didn’t come out very well.

DSCN2516_edited-1

This fellow had the neatest orange eyes.  I have no clue what species it is.

DSCN2521_edited-1

Outta the way!  Goose coming through!

DSCN2557_edited-1

This small flock of flamingos enjoyed a brief moment of sunshine.  I love the black beak against the pink.  One of my favorite birds.

DSCN2562_edited-1

The current highlight at the zoo however is Kaya and her three cubs.  They were having a blast playing with a huge bone and a rubber ball.  Sadly my photos just sucked. 

DSCN2563_edited-1

I couldn’t get my camera to give me decent shots through the wire.  They were so adorable.

DSCN2508_edited-1

This handsome fellow really wanted a few leaves from the bush. It is astonishing how far out a giraffe can stick his tongue.

Reid Park isn’t the biggest zoo in the country, but it is certainly well worth the visit. 

This entry was posted in Out of the House! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reid Park Zoo

  1. nadbugs says:

    Wonderful. Thank you for being our guide.

  2. Dianda says:

    Aawe, Cubs! Adorable!

  3. Hallysann says:

    Lovely pictures, the flamingo one is brilliant, lovely colours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

