Merlin Waits For Breakfast

DSCN2636_edited-1

My Bronze-wing Pionus, Merlin, is such a little gentleman.  Unlike Bandit, my Nanday Conure, he waits so patiently for me to get our breakfast ready.

DSCN2637_edited-1

He is such a sweet little thing, but he does love posing for the camera.

DSCN2638_edited-1

He knows how cute he is!

DSCN2643_edited-1

Once I get the apples cut up though he can be such a glutton!  Merlin loves fruit a lot more than Bandit does.

DSCN2647_edited-1

Little piglets better leave some apple for me!

This entry was posted in Merlin, Parrots and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Merlin Waits For Breakfast

  1. catfromhell says:

    Me don’t get excited about apples, now a bird…
    Kisses
    Nellie

  2. nadbugs says:

    Interesting, the way breakfast has become a theme. We had an interesting breakfast this morning. Way more interesting than I prefer. Read all about it over at our place. Your place looks mighty peaceful in comparison, I’m telling you!

  3. Pat Bean says:

    I’ve nominated you for a Versatile Blogger award. You can read all about it on my blog for today. Looking forward to your photos and thoughts in 2012.

  4. littlemiao says:

    awww. I love Merlin’s mini-rainbow feathers.

    They are both so beautiful! It must be fun to watch them eat.

  5. Alexandra says:

    I’m writing this comment listening to a singer from Bosnia and Herzegovina, called Merlin 🙂 I always meant to ask and always kept forgetting – Bandit’s feathers have these little sparkles in close-up photos or when not close-up he looks as if he’s reflecting light like a mirror. What are his feathers like, are they really with those sparkles? It’s amazing! When I first saw it I thought it was Photoshop and now I think he’s really that way. What a beautiful bird!

    • Wazeau says:

      Do you mean Merlin’s (the brown with the blue and beige) or Bandit (green with black mask?) If its Merlin, when he is not in sunlight or under the flash, he is a dark dark blue with the bronze-brown on his wings and beige on his chest – pretty much as he looks in the photos above with the apples. The brilliant turquoise on the tips of his head and body feathers, which I think is what you are calling “sparkles” shows up best when he is hit with light. Bandit, the green fellow, glows his bright green pretty much all the time, but the deep blue of his tail and flight feathers, and the turquoise on his chest, looks much brighter under light.

      I don’t photoshop in any colors or sparkles – I usually just blot out bird crap and dirt. Except I missed the nice splat on the perch cap in Merlin’s pictures above. Sigh.

      • Alexandra says:

        I mean Bandit, I noticed this effect about his feathers in the first post you once re-posted, I think he was washing there. It’s also seen in the photo which is in the top of the blog. Very beautiful!

        • Wazeau says:

          Ah okay, the sparkles in the photo at the top of my blog are water droplets – he is bathing in the sink making a mess. He is standing in a pool of water on a dark purple washcloth, with water from the faucet dripping out on him. When he shakes his feathers the water goes flying everywhere!

  6. Saemmabel says:

    YOur Merlin is quite the handsome guy. My pionus Sachi is probably the most patient in my flock too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

