Lord of the Dance

Sometimes Merlin, my bronze-wing pionus, gets himself into a jealous tizzy when he thinks Bandit and I are not paying enough attention to his royal highness.

DSCN2668_edited-1

This generally involves him breaking out into a dance step on the back of my chair.

DSCN2669_edited-1

First he struts, then he bobs and weaves.

DSCN2666_edited-1

Then they abandon me for the top of the computer hutch where they plan some deviltry between the two of them. 

Endless source of amusement as well as copious amounts of bird crap.  Love my parrots!

This entry was posted in Bandit, Merlin, Parrots and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Lord of the Dance

  1. Looking at the first photo he has a very sophisticated air about him. See how his head just slightly leans toward his out-stretched leg? Now THAT’S technique!

  2. Chancy Mumsy and Crew says:

    It would be so much fun to see a video of Merlin doing his dance. The pictures are great, we bet they are very much fun to watch. Hugs

    • Wazeau says:

      I try to get him in a video but when he sees the camera he usually stops his strutting. He is actually quite pissed off when he does this routine, but he is such a ham, the camera brings him out of it.

  3. rumpydog says:

    Oh Dog! They are gorgeous! Happy New Year!

  4. littlemiao says:

    Very impressive dancing skills! I too hope they are one day captured on film.

    The picture with Merlin and Bandit together is too cute!! They’re smiling down at us benevolently.

  5. Dancing for attention works every time doesn’t it! 🙂 The boys look like very happy guys.

    Pam (and Sam)

    • Wazeau says:

      He needs a bit more practice; I just wish he’d do it for the video! They are usually pretty happy parrots – but they can be such jealous little boys if I don’t divide my attention up enough.

  6. lillythecat says:

    Hahaha I love parrots. There is definitely a LOT of truth in the part you wrote “copious amounts of bird crap.” That’s probably the biggest reason we couldn’t have parrot friends… Well that and Lilly might not appreciate them quite like us humans….

    • Wazeau says:

      This is why I put on my pajamas the minute I get home from work – since they spend most of the time on my shoulders once I am home! And yes, my cats don’t quite understand why I haven’t eaten the birds yet…

  7. Hallysann says:

    Lord of the dance indeed, all he needs is top hat and tails. 🙂

  8. Saemmabel says:

    LOL! I like photo #1 the best!!

Leave a Reply

