Why Yes, I Am The Cutest Bird In The World

DSCN2782_edited-1

Merlin, my Bronze-Wing Pionus, looks truly captivating enjoying the late afternoon sunshine.  He knows how adorable he is.

DSCN2787_edited-1

Bandit of course won’t stand to be labeled “adorable”.  He strikes a more menacing pose as he glares at his own reflection in the window.

DSCN2784_edited-1

Merlin gives us his profile.  I think when he is back-lit like this, he looks a tiny bit like the bird-of-prey he is named for, and sometimes wishes he was.

This lovely shot above is from the Canadian Peregrine Foundation.

DSCN2778_edited-1

Bandit thinks Merlin is just a big round football of a parrot.  He himself wouldn’t want to be anything but the gorgeous and noisy Nanday Conure that he is.

This entry was posted in Bandit, Merlin, Parrots and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Why Yes, I Am The Cutest Bird In The World

  1. littlemiao says:

    I totally see the merlin in Merlin’s face.

    They are both beautiful and I love how different lighting brings out different hues in their feathers.

  2. Patricia says:

    They are beautiful birds. My father raised parakeets–we had hundreds! Not all in the house…that would have been messy and stinky.

    • Wazeau says:

      I used to have a big aviary full of parakeets (budgerigars). They are awesome little birds – nothing like the noise of a budgie flock brutilizing some wheat grass! My flock has shrunk down over the last fifteen years to just my two remaining parrots, but I do think back fondly on my days of overindulgence in birds 🙂

  3. catfromhell says:

    They are wonderful birds! I’ve only ever know one well! I worked in a bar up north that had a resident parrot and what a character he was! He put the budgies I’d had to shame.
    Nellie’s Mom

    • Wazeau says:

      Parrots can really show a huge divergence in personality… if that is the right word? Parrotality? Not knocking budgies, either – I loved mine. Well I’ve pretty much loved all my birds. And my cats.

        • Wazeau says:

          I think the editor is right – that parrot is more likely a cockatoo, not a cockatiel. I would never leave a cockatiel loose anywhere near a cat. Cockatiels and most of the other smaller, long-tailed parrots fly in the kind of erratic manner that screams “food” to cats. The heavier-bodied parrots that spend more time walking around can, of course, flick the “eat me” signal in cats, but more often it is the cat that is in danger of unexpected damage. I personally never leave the birds and cats alone together without me in the room. Usually when the birds are out, the cats are upstairs sleeping. When I am not home the birds are caged – and I have heavy cages that the cats cannot move or knock over. I have never lost a bird to a cat or the other way around and I have had birds since I was sixteen. Safety first, and never ever let complacency in. Cats are carnivores after all, and birds are very tasty.

  4. Both of the guys are quite beautiful in OR out of the sunshine….!!

    Pam (and Sam)

  5. Gorgeous pictures! two very conted and regal birds

  6. *contented!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Pat Bean says:

    Bandit wins my heart. Sorry Merlin

    • Wazeau says:

      Don’t tell Merlin, but Bandit is my favorite too. He lives on my shoulder cuddled up close to my neck under my hair. When I watch TV lying down on my couch, he is crunched up under my chin. When I do dishes he is watching everything I do from my shoulder or my elbow (you try doing dishes with a bird on your arm trying to dive under the suds!). He is my best bird bud and has been for over twenty years now. Even while he deafens me with his voice, he keeps my heart alive with his love. Yes, parrots expess love for their humans just as do cats and dogs. I can’t imagine my home without him.

  8. IsobelandCat says:

    Love the title and the pix.

Leave a Reply

