Slow Motion Head Scratching

In an effort to get Merlin’s over-long beak trimmed down naturally, I’ve been giving him a lot of wooden toys in addition to his lava rock and stone perch.  I really don’t like putting him through the trauma of a beak trim – he hates being toweled and while I have no problem doing his nails, his beak is much more dramatic.

He had other plans for this wooden toy though.  Hope you enjoy his video!

This entry was posted in Merlin, Parrot (and other bird) Videos, Parrots and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Slow Motion Head Scratching

  1. nadbugs says:

    Good lord. Beak-trimming!! What a daunting prospect. I had no idea.

    • Wazeau says:

      Yeah I’m not looking forward to it. His last vet visit I thought he was going to have a heart attack and I dread taking him back for a beak trim. I may get my next door neighbor to help me dremmel his beak myself, he’s very experienced with bird grooming and it won’t be nearly as stressful for Merlin.

  2. Sallyann says:

    Ooooh, that’s the spot … just there … Ahhh. 🙂

  3. Flo says:

    What a clever thing! Well, except that he’d better start using that stick for what it’s there for so that he doesn’t have to have another trip to the dreaded vet!

    My friend’s African Grey used to thread a toothbrush through two G clips that hung from the roof of his cage to make a swing for himself. Or herself. I’m fairly certain that anything that smart has to be a female! 🙂

  4. I was worried about his eye too! But that was hilarious, had to show hubby who knows nothing about parrots. He asked if they are sort of ‘pack’ animals – I didn’t really know the answer! What do you think?

Leave a Reply

