Me and My Bird Boys

DSCN2980_edited-1

Sunday was so warm and sunny!  My boys and I enjoyed hanging out in my bedroom feeling it through the patio door.  Once again I’m wondering how much it might cost to get the patio converted into a little screened in area that my birds and cats could enjoy on days like this.   That’s yet another item on my to-do-one-day home improvement list.  I’m turning fifty-one this month.  Maybe for my present to myself this year I might get one of those items crossed off the list.  Like paint the living room.  Paint the computer room.  Get the bathtub done like the shower last year.  Pull up the hideous carpet and put down flooring that I can actually sweep and mop.  Get a new mattress (mine is what, some twenty years old now?).

Or maybe I’ll just break down and get that new computer I’m wanting.  Something with a nice 64 bit operating system so I can actually use more then 3.whatever gig of RAM.  Cause, you know, Guild Wars 2 is coming out and SWTOR is just begging for more memory. 

This entry was posted in Bandit, Merlin, Parrots and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Me and My Bird Boys

  1. littlemiao says:

    sweet! I suppose a family portrait with you and the two kitties + two birds is out of the question.

    A screened patio would be wonderful. I hope it works out for you!

    • Wazeau says:

      I could maybe manage it if both cats were sleeping on the bed and I somehow squeeze between them with the birds on my shouders without them moving… but there is only so far away from us I can get the camera whilst holding it in my hand. Sometimes being the only person with thumbs living in a household can be trying.

  2. nadbugs says:

    Like bookends. You’re the book.

  3. What a great shot of the three of you! A family portrait with the cats included would be nice but getting the whole crew lined up together in one place at one time (and staying in position!) would be the challenge of the century! Good luck on your screened patio – I’m sure ALL of you would enjoy that.

    Pam (and Sam)

    • Wazeau says:

      Knowing me the patio will never come to be… but the computer… that definately will! The next time my son comes home I’m going to try to get me, the birds, and the cats in the same photo. That will be interesting…

  4. Sundry says:

    This put a big smile on my face. 😀

    • Wazeau says:

      You know I still get a thrill from my birds use me for a perch even though its an every day occurrence thats been occuring for over two decades now. I think it has something to do with how much I envy their ability to fly, and that they trust me to be stable for them.

  5. minlit says:

    Before they invented cheese, didn’t photographers ask people to watch the birdy? I guess you’re going with the cheese 🙂

  6. Saemmabel says:

    I say rip out all the carpet and outdoor cages for all!! :)) Pets and carpet just don’t mix in my humble opinion.

  7. dawn says:

    I saw your comment on another blog with your Nanday in the avatar so I had to stop by. It’s nice to see another blogger with parrots!

  8. lemniscate47 says:

    That’s the Best photo of you I’ve seen so far, Dear Waseau!! You look so happy.. with one dear little feathered pal on each shoulder!!
    “Happy Birthday”.. for whenever in April it was. I hope You had a Great Day xxx
    Speaking from 60 yrs [which still sounds positively surreal to my ears], 51 yrs makes you the nipper in this particular conversation!! n I don’t know about you, but me n the myself that I have most of the running dialogue with, in here in my head, we might look from the outside as if we’re turning into an old lady, but in here, where all the most interesting stuff goes on.. we’re still.. around about, probably, in about our late twenties!! Nothing to worry about.. you’re still your own funny, kind n fascinating/fascinated You, Yourself, personally!!!
    Glad to have met You. Dear Waseau xxx

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks so much for the birthday thoughts. I don’t feel a day over fifty! hehehe

      • lemniscate47 says:

        Ohh, Dear!! Like that is it today?!!
        What I was saying yesterday.. I don’t wish myself younger. I really don’t. [[Well, I sorta do, but not seriously]] I Acknowledge, if not exactly Treasure, every minute, every day of my Life so far. There have been Incredible Ups.. n Middlins.. n Appalling Downs.. but whatever sort of day I’m having.. it usually comes as a surprise when I unexpectedly catch sight of myself in a mirror.. n see an old lady. Friends tell me I look great for my age, n considering how some of it’s been, I think I do.. but pootling about in the house.. in fairly constant narration in my head, of whatever it is I’m doing.. n whatever it’s reminded me of n plans for later, etc, don’t exclude the old lady, they just forget she’s the public representative of us all.. [I’ve never put this feeling into words before.. it sounds a little ‘out there’, but is really just very Ordinary every day, isn’t it?.. cos, in the meantime while I’m chuntering away (in here in my head) as I pootle about, or go out shopping or meet with friends, etc.. the phenomena of aging is just gliding along beside us.. in secret n indistinctly.. nothing much to see on a daily basis.. not much change in the conversations/narrations within, but every now n then, I catch sight of myself in the mirror.. n it’s “Blimey!! Look what’s been happening to You!!”
        Yes, Aging is very strange phenomena. As it’s happening anyway, I’m kinda glad it happens this way. And, whatever way it happens, I certainly wouldn’t want to miss it!!
        I’m a bit poorly, I have a ‘fibromyalgia-type of Chronic Fatigue Syndrome’ characterised by pain, weakness n fatigue.. that came on quite suddenly a bit over 10 years ago. I’ve had to make a lot of adjustments in my Life to get along with it, including eventually, having to give up work.. I’ve had to work out plans n routines to ‘keep my chin up’ myself. Being able to stay home every day sounds great until you Have to do it 24/7/52. Allowing for that, n good days n bad days, n having no visible sign of illness, again pluses n minuses to this phenomena.. that allowed, I can’t believe I’m getting to enjoy period in my Life, 20s to 40s, that was often Blighted by circumstances.. n subject to questionable decision-making, etc. This old lady is poorly, but she’s enjoying the heck out of the Life she’s leading now. Yes, even allowing for the recent loss of Dear Lucy, poorly aging black beauty, who’da given Sassy n Nekoka a run for their money in the Sun-batheing Stakes.. n b/w kitten Jimmy here from 4 weeks of age to seven months, he was Always a ‘foster cat’, but missing him too since he went the cat sanctuary for rehoming. Both earlier this month. God Bless.

        • lemniscate47 says:

          I’m really Sorry, Waseau, I got a bit carried away n waffled on.
          Do please, by all means, Delete these, if you’d like to.. I Absolutely Won’t Mind at all. xxx

          • Wazeau says:

            Hugs! I really don’t mind at all, I enjoy very much reading your comments here and on my videos at Youtube! I try to reply to all comments but work has really been getting in the way of my on line life lately! Please don’t hesitate to “waffle on” as much as desired and rest assured I do read them all. (on the other hand, if you want me to delete something just let me know). I have known several people with chronic fatigue/fibromyalgia and it really is a hard thing to have to deal with. It makes the whole “aging” thing even more of a pain 😛 I know just what you mean when you talk about seeing yourself in the mirror. It is always a surprise. I always hesitate when putting pictures of myself up on the blog, but I do it to remind myself that I am a human being and my physical being is part of who I am. My blog is my diary and when I look back on it, I want to be in it too!

          • lemniscate47 says:

            Thank You, Dear Waseau. What you’ve said here really means a lot to me. Thank You..
            I meant what I said right at the beginning, though, too. This is a lovely photo of you.
            You and Your Dear Beautiful Birdy Boys xxx

Leave a Reply

