Backyard in Bloom

DSCN3014_edited-1

My lilac tree is bursting with blooms this year!  The scent when I walk out the back door is almost overwhelming.  I am not the only one to enjoy these lovely flowers, though, as you can see.

DSCN3020

My next door neighbor’s tree is also in full bloom right now, competing with my lilacs.  I think this is a dogwood but I’m not sure.  The two trees make leaving the house first thing in the morning into such a pleasure.

DSCN3019

If only they lasted longer.  With the rainy weather hitting my area tonight, I can only hope that when I walk out the door tomorrow, I won’t see heavy water-laden blooms dragging on the ground.

DSCN3021

But there will always be next year to look forward too!

This entry was posted in Out of the House! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Backyard in Bloom

  1. That’s simply stunning!

  2. Flo says:

    Beautiful. That’s a wonderful photo with the butterfly.

  3. orientallily001 says:

    You’re so lucky… my lilacs aren’t blooming yet. That peep thinks she’s such a little gardener but really, she’s not very good at it at all, I think. And yes, the white flowered tree is a dogwood. I don’t know how I know that but I do. It’s not like the peep has planted one for me or anything. I’ll have to have a ‘little chat’ with her this afternoon. That dogwood is gorgeous!

    • Wazeau says:

      I love how completely full of white blooms it is but I must admit to being partial to the lilac 🙂 I’m not anything of a gardner here, but I did trim the lilac back really hard last fall as it was taking over the little space I have for walking out to the car – maybe that helped with the blooms this year.

  4. catfromhell says:

    What beautiful trees! I can see myself climbing them! Queen Penelope is still not 100% so I am visiting today. Thanks for sending purrs, they really help. She has been using the litter box and even though the lumps are smaller than normal, at least they are lumps.
    Have a great day!
    Kozmo

  5. Gorgeous blooms……..there’s almost nothing that smells as fabulous as lilacs in bloom. That is indeed a dogwood in your neighbors’ yard but while some of those are fragrant (the pink ones especially) the lilac is tough to beat! Hope the rain doesn’t beat them to pieces and you can enjoy them for a while to come.

    Pam (and Sam)

    • Wazeau says:

      They really do smell wonderful. I took a couple of sprays to work today and I had people stopping by all day. And the threatened rain did NOT arrive (although it is supposed to storm tomorrow) so I’m hoping I get a few more days 🙂

  6. The Big Girl says:

    How beautiful…have not come across any butterflies here. I am new to WordPress (comparatively speaking), so I appreciate the follow. Looking forward to exploring your blog —I am so impressed by your layout….something to shoot for:)

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks! I am using the 2010 template with just the regular stuff on the side – nothing very original here but I like its straightforward layout. It fits with the whole pictures plus a little bit of verbiage that is my on-line diary (which is what I consider my blog to be 🙂

  7. nadbugs says:

    WOW. Although that one with the butterfly, I say it’s the dreaded PhotoShop. Wish you could see the dogwood here, in the wild. It’s a “mid-story” tree, so its frothy blooms float in amongst the hardwoods like a misty dream. Just incredible. Comes in pink, too. So much more understated and elegant than the lilacs. Which I also love. Dadgummit, what is with you and these flowers & memories? First the forget-me-nots, now the lilacs. You know that picture of my grandmother in my living room? She was the one with the lilacs. And lily of the valley, too. Are you going to come up with them, too? Waiting!

Leave a Reply

