Flower Inspection Crew

My son Tony sent me a lovely bouquet of flowers for my birthday at the end of April (I’m a little late on this post obviously).  This is what he gave me last year as well.  He is very consistent!  But then he comes by it naturally – I’m a pretty ritualistic person myself.  Notice how I came up with practically the same title.

DSCN3094_edited-1

Nekoka and Sassafrass love the flowers.  I like them well enough, but I don’t understand why he gives me flowers.  I mean he lived with me twenty-some years.  Did he ever see me go, “wow I love flowers!”  I don’t mean to sound petty or ungrateful.   I’m just confused at how he makes these choices.

DSCN3101_edited-1

If it is just the whole last minute shopping thing, where getting it delivered on the preferred day is paramount, there are other options besides flowers.  There are all sorts of gift baskets you can get delivered on call.  Like fruit baskets which are edible!  Flowers smell good and look pretty but you definitely cannot eat them especially if you are a cat.

DSCN3106_edited-1

Since I’m pretty sure Tony never reads my blog I can say this – dude!  Fruit not flowers for gosh sakes!  I love you but your taste in birthday presents for your Mom could use some improvement.  And – oh yeah – Mother’s day is coming up.

This entry was posted in Cats, Nekoka, Sassafrass, What's Yours Is Mine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Flower Inspection Crew

  1. The Big Girl says:

    I don’t want to stereotype, so i will just say that most straight men have no imagination when it comes to gifts…especially younger ones…here is your opportunity to educate at least one. Tell him what it is you want, even if it is just more cat food! I can’t tell you how thrilled I would be if I got a gift certificate for a case of Fancy Feast, instead of basket of something i probably don’t eat.) Just a thought…..Or purrhaps the flowers will grow on you, and he did remember!

    • Wazeau says:

      He always gets the cats presents for Christmas and he knows I love those kind of gifts. And I am very happy that he remembers my birthday. But if he is going to drop money on me, you are right, I just want something that has more to do then just look and smell pretty! I’m so NOT a girly girl type. Cat or parrot junk, or something edible 🙂

  2. The Big Girl says:

    BTW, I love your photo’s…makes me want to sketch them;)

    • Wazeau says:

      Feel free! I want to be a water color painter when I grow up but I’m still so amateur that I end up throwing away more then I keep. I can’t wait till I am at least competent enough to do my babies!

  3. Flo says:

    They do have to investigate flowers don’t they! Fergus just about flattens any orchid that comes into the house – they drive her wild and she has to rub and roll all over them.

    • Wazeau says:

      That is the problem! So many of the flowers are not good for cats or birds and I have to put the flowers somewhere safe, which means I don’t even see them most of the time they have left alive.

  4. I hear you on the flower thing…..they are pretty “in the moment” but as they fade and drop petals and bits and pieces the “thrill is gone” so quickly. Still, ordering flowers is (apparently) easier – so says my husband anyway. Here’s hoping Tony surprises you for Mom’s Day with something more EDIBLE or SPENDABLE….. 😀

    Pam (and Sam)

  5. Jelena says:

    Yummy! You may send that flower-salad over here, Leroy and Albert would really appreciate it!
    Unlike my cats, I do not like getting flowers. But, a box of chocolates always makes me happy!
    Actually, when I think more about that – I am just like my cats. I like edible stuff! 🙂

    • Wazeau says:

      I’m so sorry, for some reason your post got dumped in the spam folder! I agree though I much prefer edible to flowers which while physically edible are not allowed to be eaten around here 🙂

  6. It would be very cool if you could feed the safe ones to your birds, but you simply don’t know how they were raised which is a problem. But they are beautiful!

    • Wazeau says:

      And they smell good too but – sigh – finding somewhere safe for them to sit is a bit of a problem. And then in the trash they go.

  7. catfromhell says:

    Some one has fallen for the advertising! And they are gorgeous!
    Kisses
    Nellie

  8. Sometimes it’s just hard to know what will be appreciated.:) For example, my mother makes a rumtopf (“rum pot”) every winter (that’s fruits and nuts preserved in rum and sugar, very yummy in the cold season). So when I came across an old East German dishtowel (unused, sticker still on) with a rumtopf recipe on it, I bought it for her as a joke gift. She later received a new ceramic pot to make rumtopf in from my cousin, and so I brought out the towel to complete the picture. Everyone thought it was funny but my mother later returned the towel to me “because she has enough dishtowels”. Uhm, yes, mom, I wasn’t doubting that…
    At least she seems to have liked our real gift.

    • Wazeau says:

      See now I think that tea-towel would be an excellent gift! It showed a personal touch, some thought involved as to how it related to her as a person even if it was a “joke” gift. I love that idea!

  9. nadbugs says:

    Gift-giving in families. Sigh. A purrenial dilemma.

    • Wazeau says:

      Gifting him is easy – he tells me exactly what he wants or he gets a gift certificate 🙂

      • nadbugs says:

        But — could you not say to him: Son, you brilliant boy! You have a great idea! You must have got that from me! I want to do the same! Give me parrot junk?

        • nadbugs says:

          Well, now reading your answers, I hear another note: You’d really love him to extend his intimate knowing of you as mama, and come up with some idea himself. No matter what, you’re wishing this idea would demonstrate he’s reaching out to YOU. Not through some advertising-created image of you. My strategy wouldn’t address that. Well — any chance you could say this intimacy thing to him?

          • Wazeau says:

            “You’d really love him to extend his intimate knowing of you as mama, and come up with some idea himself.” Exactly. But then considering he hasn’t really lived with me for (can it really be) ten some years now, how intimate can his knowing of me be? I should just be grateful for the flowers as inspiration for the blog posts and all the wonderful comments I get 🙂 even if I can’t eat them.

            I seem to be obsessed with thoughts of eating lately. Maybe because I’ve put on four pounds in the last month although my eating pattern hasn’t changed and I don’t want to have to up my exercizing to get rid of them. I should be happy he DIDN’T send me something edible. Stupid meds are probably needing adjustment yet again.

  10. lemniscate47 says:

    I’ve been thinking about this Blog entry of yours, Waseau. I didn’t want to blurt with annoyance on your behalf, which I nearly did.
    I find it actually hurts my feelings if someone close doesn’t make the effort to give a gift that is for ME, specifically.
    Cost is irrelevant, Specificity is All. The only cut flowers I like are freesia.. n I’m careful with money/love a bargain. A few years ago, my sister sent me a cut-flower-card. A tiny Birthday card-sized garden of cut flower-heads.. that cost £30/48$!! I nearly wept.
    All you could do was watch the poor little cut flowers die.
    A plant would have Delighted me.. n for £30, it’d have been a doosie. It’s not a case of being ungrateful, it’s a case of wanting a moment’s thought to be spent on the choice of a gift. I always take Great Care in choosing my gifts for family members n friends, n I know that they appreciate this. it hurts if, in return, they can’t take at least, a little care in their choice of gift for me. xxx Annie

    • Wazeau says:

      I hear you! One can definately tell those who love to find that perfect present. Tony does really well for Christmas usually but then I give him very definate instructions hehe. I love him to death but I understand what he is thinking. Plants do make, I think, a better present than cut flowers – as long as its cat edible!

  11. lemniscate47 says:

    Sorry, only just read back through your other comments n replies.
    Yes, it’s very important to know that Lily pollen, in particular, is very poisonous to the point of being lethal to cats.. it has the same sort of appalling effect as anti-freeze. That is, apart from what pesticides, etc any blooms might have been sprayed with as PS was saying.
    [[and, I’d have thought that teatowel a ‘real find’, too!! The Returning of it?? Woahh!!]]
    xxx

Leave a Reply

