Vacations Make For Lazy Bums

DSCN3300_edited-1

I have had this whole week off. I am loving every lazy moment of it. We are spending a lot of time on the couch.  Merlin here is yawning his brains out – he is no more ambitious then I am!

DSCN3301_edited-1

The parrots aren’t supposed to be on the couch without a sheet protector but I’m doing laundry while we laze about, and I didn’t have the heart to shoo my boys away.  As long as I pay attention, both parrots will give me a good poop on command every ten or fifteen minutes, so if they get any on the couch or my leg its my own fault.  In case you are curious, their body movements are very indicative of when its time to go, so all I have to do is hold them over the plastic floor protector under my living room table and say “Take a dump!” and they oblige.  Bandit is much better at this then Merlin, but as I said, it is a matter of timing on my part.

DSCN3302_edited-1

One of the many plus sides of cats is they never poop on me or the furniture.  Isn’t Sassafrass patience personified?  She won’t even deign to look at the feathery bundles of yumminess perched on my knees.

DSCN3296_edited-1

I’m lucky they let me sit here.  Or rather, lie here, providing a nice comfortable perch.

This entry was posted in Bandit, Cats, Merlin, Parrots, Sassafrass and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Vacations Make For Lazy Bums

  1. Looks like EVERYBODY is enjoying having “Mom” at home this week…..including Mom herself! Enjoy……..keep cool……….relax…….that’s what we’re doing!

    Kitty hugs, Sammy

  2. Um, we kitties think Sassafras may have a wire loose!

  3. The Big Girl says:

    lol..enjoy

  4. …mmmmmmmm…smacks lips…….oh, ah….no,no….didn’t say that in print did I???

  5. catfromhell says:

    Yous can makes your birdies Poop on command?!?! That is pretty cool as wes poops whenever we wants, but me must admit, we does do it in the litter box and the hairy slobbery sisters goes outside. Now if only Mommy could get me to hork up hairballs on plastic.
    Kisses
    Nellie

  6. Patricia says:

    Telling birds to “take a dump” is hilarious.

    • Wazeau says:

      If only I payed better attention hehehe. They are very good at anteing up but only when I notice and give them the cue. If I wait too long they have no problem with splatting all over whatever surface their little tails hover over – usually me!

  7. Flo says:

    Holidays are supposed to be for recharging your batteries and lazing around. I am impressed that you can get your birds to poo on demand… though I probably shouldn’t be – they are smart creatures. I also love your description of them as ‘two bundles of yumminess’! Yes, S is very patient!

    • Wazeau says:

      Well it is pretty much armed detente around here, with both sides content to allow the other to live in peace. If hostilities loom it is because Merlin has decided to tease Nekoka, usually. He is such a bad boy 🙂

  8. lemniscate47 says:

    Hope your vacation’s as much fun as you hope. Looks like Lotsa Fun to me.. especially with Sassi so studiously ignoring the birds, in order to join in n sit with you as well.
    Your whole bird’s pooping routine sounds a Hoot!! All very carefully gauged, though.. Splendid!!.

    • Wazeau says:

      Only two days left! I hate hate hate the idea of having to go back into the office and leaving my crew at home again. The parrots get so spoiled, being out of their cages most of the day when I’m home. Luckily I have a new order of bird toys coming in soon so at least they should have a new set of chewables to re-accustom themselves to spending the day inside their cage.

  9. Chancy and Mumsy says:

    Love that last picture. Glad you got to enjoy some time at home with your sweeties. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Wazeau says:

      When the alarm went off this morning I was so crabby! Will take me all of today to get back in business – missing my babies already and they will be totally cranky tonight.

  10. jimmie chew says:

    Come by our blog when you have time to say Good Bye. We are done with our Meowmoir. i want to thank you for being our friend, you were one of our first followers!

  11. Papoe says:

    The last image is epic 😉

    • Wazeau says:

      hehe – shows my place in my own household – parrot perch and cat feeder.

      • nadbugs says:

        This is such a happy post — so glad to see it. Thank you for the feather-pix, of them where they came from! It’s amazing how much difference having a few of them in hand makes to my TOTAL enjoyment. Give your boys a scritch, from us to you. And a hug for you.

  12. littlemiao says:

    It looks like everyone enjoyed your time at home. I love the bird profiles along with Sassafrass’ profile in the photos. Sassafrass’ restraint is admirable, but then again those beaks look like they could be kind of sharp.

Leave a Reply

