After Breakfast, A Shower

DSCN3473_edited-1

Our Saturday started off pretty sedately – Merlin perched on my knee begging for apple bites.

DSCN3476_edited-1

But as usual, running the vacuum cleaner put Merlin in a “I Wanna Shower” mood which I am only too quick to indulge.  Getting good photos with one hand squeezing the water mister and the other the camera can be a challenge.

DSCN3478_edited-1

Merlin decided to show off his better side.  Does it show too much of my weirder side when I say I love his little orange butt feathers?  Don’t answer that…

DSCN3479_edited-1

It is only when I review the photos that I realize he needs another beak trim.  He really should learn to sand down his own beak on the one of the rough stones I provide but he is a lazy gus!  I never have to do Bandit’s beak, but Merlin’s grows like crazy.

DSCN3480_edited-1

This is a really odd angle.  At first it looks like he is showing us his armpit but the wing going up is the far wing, and what looks like a tail is actually a wing going down – his little tail is pointed at the laundry basket.

DSCN3482_edited-1

Merlin loves me to squirt his butt and underarms.  Underwings.  Whatever.  He just wants to be wet all over.  You can see a whole lot of his fuzzy underfeathers too – all the white fluff on his legs and lower belly.  Pionus are known for being a bit more scruffy with their under feathers and Merlin is no exception. 

DSCN3485_edited-1

Almost all his molted feathers are fully grown.  He has one more tail feather that is missing but the wings will soon be all even again. 

DSCN3487_edited-1

Now this is one fully showered up Bronze Wing Pionus.  He is trying to get me to give him just one more squirt but the bottle is empty.  Time to wipe up all that water and clean the cages!  Don’t you love Saturdays!

This entry was posted in Merlin, Parrots and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to After Breakfast, A Shower

  1. animalartist says:

    He’s definitely enjoying that shower!

  2. nadbugs says:

    I sure love YOUR Saturdays, Wazeau. And if you are weird, well then, we are weird together. I cannot get enough of Merlin. From any angle. SMOOTCH!!

  3. Patricia says:

    He does seem to like the attention a shower gets him.

  4. Flo says:

    Those colours are fantastic!

    • Wazeau says:

      He is gorgeous under the right light. When there is none, he appears so drab! Its an amazing difference. I have to figure out how to make my camera not flash when needed and see if it turns out at all.

Leave a Reply

