This Doesn’t Belong Here

Since I’m home on vacation this week, one of my self-imposed tasks is to wash all the afghans that serve as couch or chair covers (in my eyes) or cat cushions (Sassafrass’ version).  She was not at all happy when I pulled her favorite off the chair and it disappeared downstairs. 

DSCN3565_edited-1

I laid it out on the bed because I wanted to take some photos of it to put up on Ravelry, which is a fun site for us yarn enthusiasts.  I just found and joined it and wanted to put up some of the pieces I have already made.  I still have to get some work-in-progress shots of the two current afghans I’m making.

DSCN3568_edited-1

Sass, while appreciating the fresh-from-the-dryer warmth, obviously cannot wait to fill each little flower back up with cat hair.

DSCN3569_edited-1

She is so adorable.  Sorry, I cannot help myself.  That crooked little face, those big eyes, the little white whiskers.  So yummy. 

Now to put the afghan back where it belongs.

This entry was posted in Cats, Crochet, Sassafrass and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to This Doesn’t Belong Here

  1. lemniscate47 says:

    I Love the slightly-confused, but determined expression on her pretty face.
    Your flowery afgan is beautiful, Waseau.. it looks perfect on the chair keeping the cat’s extra warm.

  2. yes, the expression on her face is priceless, as if “somethings different…..”. She IS adorable 😉

  3. minlit says:

    I LOVE crochet. Haven’t done it in years, but always really enjoyed it. Knitting on the other hand…..we’ll I’d rather stick the needles in my eyes. Fabulous rug.

    • Wazeau says:

      I tried to knit and hated it. Crochet is so much more relaxing for me. I started with afghans and such and then spent years doing nothing but thread work until my hands just couldn’t take it any more. After a few years of not touching a hook I decided to start back up with yarn again and thank goodness my hands aren’t complaining! I had almost totally forgotten how very pleasant and addicting it is churning out granny squares and row after row of double-crochet on an afghan 🙂

  4. Mag (Chancy's Mumsy) says:

    You are adorable sweet Sassafrass and we can understand why she loves that beautiful afghan so much. These pictures are great. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Wazeau says:

      She likes it because it makes her colors so much more vibrant – and she can pretend she is out in a garden somewhere (not that she has ever really been in a garden – way too dangerous around here to let them out).

  5. Dianna says:

    Oh, what a sweet kitty. Years ago, we had a tortoise, named Miss Piggy (she had belonged to neighbors, and they had given her that name). She had the orange and black “divided down the nose” face. So strikingly beautiful! Now get Sass’s afghan back in HER chair!

  6. nadbugs says:

    Wonderful post in every way. I’m totally smiling.

  7. Sassy looks so much like our much loved cat, Leaf, who thought she owned everything I made, even while I was making it (she would try to sit on my hands). She’s gone to cat heaven but she was such a personality that I will never forget her! Sassy is very cute, and I love the afghan too … =D

    • Wazeau says:

      Thank you! The calicos and torties are some of my favorite cats (well and the big yellow and orange fellows). The ones I have known had such great loving, outgoing personalities. Leaf, what a great name for a cat!

  8. Sallyann says:

    Love the flowers, I’ve not seen the pattern before, they’re beautiful. 🙂

    • Wazeau says:

      It is really easy, and sooo pretty! Flowers that never wilt 🙂 I have no idea where I got the pattern from, I had so many different magazines back then.

Leave a Reply

