Old Yarns, New Projects–and Obligatory Cat Photo

Since I’m on the subject of crochet projects, and this little blog is about my world which actually does include some things beside my cats and birds (huge shock, I know!) I’d like to show off my two current projects and some of my old finished ones.

DSCN3571

My Sunburst Flower granny square project is a neat contrast of circles in squares in two shades of green and an orange, using puffs, clusters, and good old double crochets.  I modified the original pattern a bit since using the triples for the center ring blew the gauge for me.  I’m using yarn from my stash so I’m not sure how big it will end up being.

DSCN3570

The color pattern will give me six different squares (I missed showing the square with dark green middle and rim, and light green/orange/light green center).  I’m not sure how I’m going to block them together.  I may end up buying a really dark green and doing one more row around each square and finishing the edging with it to bind the whole thing together.  I really enjoy this pattern, it is fun doing the puffs and clusters.

DSCN3574

My eyelet afghan is a very simple pattern, just rows of double crochet with the middle row having an open filet space, and joined to each previous color block with chain stitches and single crochets.  I went with the recommended colors from the pattern, lots of browns, burgundy, blues and a green.  It is really quick and easy to do while watching TV since it doesn’t require that much concentration like the squares do.

DSCN3576

I don’t remember how long ago I made this white blue and black granny square afghan, but once again it was from old yarns a friend gave me.  I love it because it is very soft and warm.  It is one of Nekoka’s favorite spots to hide.  Well, to try to hide.

DSCN3578

This one is really really old – twenty years?  Twenty five?  It was a pain in the neck to make, some of the yarns were very split-crazy and fuzzy.  I loved the hexagons, I just hated the yarn.  I also ran out way before I thought I would and it is too narrow – only seven strips.  But it does fit nicely along the back of the couch.

DSCN3581

This is the oldest blanket I still have that I made.  It was my son’s baby blanket which makes it almost thirty years old.  I knew he was going to be a boy way before we actually knew it Smile

DSCN3582

It was a very fun shell stitch and once again I ran out of yarn way before I wanted to  (I have a real problem with gauge), but it was fun to do and it kept my mind off that obnoxious little brat in my belly who was so intent on poking me from the inside out!

These are just the yarn projects that are out and about in my house.  I have a few more in the closet, and oh my goodness, the thread projects!  Stacks and stacks of doilies, placemats, Christmas ornaments, pot holders, etc. etc.  Should I spare the internet from my obsession?  Nah….

This entry was posted in Crochet, Nekoka, Sassafrass and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Old Yarns, New Projects–and Obligatory Cat Photo

  1. Incredible, especially the hexagon one ! Love Nekoka “hiding” and Sass sneaking up 🙂

  2. minlit says:

    Hexagons…mmmmm. Or as my seven year old calls them, pexagons.

  3. I also love the hexagon/pexagon one! Really stunning colours. I have to ask – how to you manage to do any of this with cats in the house? Mine go MENTAL when I try to learn how to knit or crochet. Maybe I use that as an excuse as I’m really, really, bad at it.

  4. Dianna says:

    Oh, I really loved seeing your afghans! My mom taught me to crochet when I was just a child, sitting on the arm of that big ol’ chair she sat in while she crocheted. Granny square was the pattern of choice. I love the white, blue and black one especially. (The kitties in the picture were a bonus!) Thanks for sharing 🙂

  5. lemniscate47 says:

    Lovely to see your beautiful Afgans n throws, Waseau. I Love how you choose such good colour combinations. xxx

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks! I went through a period where I was getting all sorts of yarn from friends and co-workers, and the colors were just from what I had been given. But picking what goes together is always so much fun!

  6. Those are fun! I used to crochet and then I acquired 13 cats.

    *sigh*

    • Wazeau says:

      LOL! It can be a real challenge but I just keep some extra yarns around for when my two want to join in my stitchery. We play for awhile and then they let me work in peace – mostly. I do want to try to get some photos of them helping me out but I only have so many hands!

  7. Patricia says:

    I haven’t crocheted in a while–started blogging. But I may begin again after seeing your work.

  8. I love the colours you’re using for the Sunburst squares … and it was really interesting to read about the projects you’ve made over the years! =D

    • Wazeau says:

      Thank you ! I’m not sure why your comment got stuck in my spam folder but you are unspammed now 🙂 Just wait for my thread blog – soooo many doilies lol

  9. lahgitana says:

    makes me miss embroidery, but I can’t see well enough to really enjoy it anymore. keep posting to the internet!

    I agree about the pexagon–quite a visually stunning work!

    • Wazeau says:

      I stopped crocheting for the longest time after doing nothing but thread work because of my hands (carpal tunnel from too much computer) and because of my eyes. And while I love watercoloring, it is also painful because it is so hard for me to see and my hands start shaking so much when I’m trying to be steady. But I can still make beauty with yarn and my nice big crochet hooks 🙂

      Thanks for the compliments guys, you all are making me blush!

  10. Flo says:

    Wow! I’m impressed. 🙂

    • Wazeau says:

      aww thanks! Crocheting isn’t that hard – knitting was so much harder. I love how quick yarn projects work up – yarn could be quite an obsession if you let it!

  11. Sallyann says:

    They’re wonderful, especially the hexagon one. 🙂
    Believe it or not it was my Dad who taught me to crochet, but I only learned as far as Granny Squares. 🙂
    I made a baby blanket for my very first Great Neice out of the squares and there’s another one due in March. (Great Niece and blanket). 😀

  12. animalartist says:

    I love the sunburst squares for the same reasons–round in square, and the difference in the stitches. I love texture too. I never made a baby blanket for me, but plenty for friends. I nearly always have a crochet project going, but I skipped a few months.

    • Wazeau says:

      I only made the one baby blanket for myself because thank goodness I only had one baby! I don’t know how people with more than one human kid survived 😛

Leave a Reply

