Doilies Everywhere!

DSCN3650_edited-1

So I threatened a post with photos of all the doilies I’ve crocheted over the years, and I almost always follow through with my threats! I dragged the stack out of the hall closet and took shots of them as well as ones scattered throughout the house. Unfortunately, all the ones I’ve given away are lost.

DSCN3646_edited-1

Nekoka and Sassafrass participated, of course.

DSCN3609_edited-1

Most if not all of the doily patterns come from an old magazine called Magic Crochet, which apparently is no more.  I still have stacks and stacks of issues though – they had the most wonderful thread crochet patterns.

DSCN3610

These are downstairs in my living room.  I moved off the candles, teapots, and lamps that they usually sit under for their shots.  I also realized how dirty they are – I need to wash and re-stretch them.

DSCN3611_edited-1

I promise more cat pictures!  Just keep scrolling!

DSCN3612

That’s a vase full of Pionus and Nanday feathers off to the right Smile

DSCN3613_edited-1

Awww, my son and Sassafrass as a kitten – and goodness, I made this little frog when Tony was three or four.  He’s ancient!

DSCN3614_edited-1

Yarn potholder – using leftovers from the afghan on my bed.  I still have tons of pink yarn left.

DSCN3615

This doily’s purpose is to keep parrot crap off my CDs…. oh and help parrots not slide off when they come in for a landing.

DSCN3617_edited-1

Spot the bird poop!

DSCN3616

More pink. 

DSCN3619_edited-1

Looking at these now, I can’t believe how tiny some of the stitching is.  No wonder my eyes and hands are crap now.

DSCN3620

I barely remember making these. OK these really aren’t showing up very well against my bedspread.  Let’s find some cloth to show them off a little better.

DSCN3621

Oh, I like this one!  Even though it badly needs some blocking, it turned out really nice.

DSCN3622

Some filet work.

DSCN3623

I still have skeins and skeins of this lovely blue thread.  But I can barely see yarn now, I think that I will probably never use it up.

DSCN3625

To give you some concept of size, that purple thing is a pillow case.

DSCN3628

The white thread shows up much better on purple then on my multicolored bed spread.

DSCN3630

Popcorns and more popcorns!

DSCN3632

This is about the tiniest thread I’ve worked with.  This thing is about five inches in diameter.

DSCN3633

Some fun pineapples.

DSCN3634

Another really tiny one, maybe six inches in diameter. 

DSCN3635

I like this one too but it really needs to be blocked, the chains are all squirrely.

DSCN3636

Here’s one almost as wide as the pillowcase.  I actually remember crocheting this one because while the middle is worked in the round, the border (from where the little boxes are on the outer ring) was done as a strip working back and forth around the interior, which was a fun change from normal.

DSCN3638

Another tiny little doily which is all shriveled from being folded.  These would look so much better blocked and starched.

DSCN3639

Another bigger one with thicker thread.  The flower pattern in the filet and the edging would look much better after blocking.

DSCN3641

When I think back on how many stitches I’ve counted, row upon row… so much enjoyment!  They really are fun and not as hard as you might think, if you haven’t done threadwork.  Its just counting and repetition.

DSCN3642

I know, I know, I promised more cat pictures!  They are coming!

DSCN3643

But I want an online record of these so hang in with me.

DSCN3644

Just a few more

DSCN3645

And we made it to the cats!

DSCN3648

This is when Sassafrass and Nekoka decided to help out.  Sass didn’t really like Neko showing up.  She actually pounced on him and chased him off, which is pretty unusual.

DSCN3649

Look at that face!  The photo at the very top of this post is the one where she pounced – I wasn’t fast enough (as usual) to get the really good shot.

DSCN3651

I have no idea why I had black thread – but it did make a nice pineapple doily!

DSCN3652

A tiny little green doily, and then last but not least, my threaded flower table cover.

DSCN3654

This took forever.

DSCN3655

But Sassy approves!

DSCN3656

Close-up of the flowers.

This entry was posted in Cats, Crochet, Nekoka, Sassafrass, What's Yours Is Mine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Doilies Everywhere!

  1. It’s a doily bonanza!! Lovely work….I know NOTHING about crocheting but I do know this indeed takes good eyes and hands. Some lovely patterns……..how nice of Nekoka and Sassafrass to help Mom…….

    Pam

    • Wazeau says:

      I know, I know – its a heck of a lot of doilies but it was a good twenty-five years worth of them!

      • lahgitana says:

        I just love that collection–the detail work, the hours and hours…. I don’t think it’s “too many” or anything–I see a life of creating there and that is truly spectacular. Thank you so much for going to the effort to photograph and then post. !!

  2. nadbugs says:

    Absolutely spectacular.

    • Wazeau says:

      yea just wait till my son goes through my junk when I die, he’s going to be all, what the FREAK do I do with all these doilies and afghans and junk! Bad enough I gotta take these parrots!

  3. so, I have several of those exact same patterns…doilies…made by my Mom, Grandmothers and even a complete crocheted double bed size bedspread crocheted by my Mom’s Mom…those patterns are all from the 1910’s-1940’s I think. It is like a walk through my past…and this is Mom Linda, NOT Savannah…you touched my heart and my female family history, thank you ever so much…off to blow my nose

    • Wazeau says:

      Crochet Magic was such a great magazine, so many many vintage patterns. I think they are actually worth some money these days but I wouldn’t give mine up for anything. I will have to go through them and figure out which issues I have. I have two afghans and a couple of bookmarks that my grandmother crocheted that came to me when she died and they are so very special to me. If only my son would find someone and give me some grandbabies to pass hers and mine to!

  4. animalartist says:

    OMG, you really did it up with those doilies, and you got creative with color too~ I’ll bet we were crocheting the same ones at the same time. I still have my issues of those magazines except for two–perhaps I’ll have to check with you for a few of those patterns. Did you ever make any of the filet crochet kitty patterns? I really grew to like filet crochet through Magic Crochet too. When I had some repetitive motion issues with my hands I used a regular hook and worsted yarn and made the doilies into tablecloths. How fun to see this~

    • Wazeau says:

      ooh now that is a great idea, to just use yarn instead of thread. I am sure you understand how incredibly satisfying it is counting your way around the rows and watching the gorgeous patterns grow out little by little. I have a whole queue of stuff I plan to make after I finish off the two afghans I’m working right now (the dc filet one is almost done, I’m doing the border now) and after I finish those I am going to do a giant yarn doily! I’ve done some filet work but I don’t find those as fun or fulfilling as working in the round. Do you have a ravelry profile? I just found that site a few weeks ago which brought on this whole “record my projects” obsession 🙂

  5. Wow! I am well impressed. I can’t even begin to say which are my favourites! It’s funny, when you know you can’t do something, how much you appreciate seeing the work of someone who can. And when you have a talent of your own, you shrug it off as it was fun and easy!

  6. OMG, you are amazing..I want to learn now 🙂 That’s my goal for new year, to make something..lol xx0xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  7. catfromhell says:

    Your doilies is pawsome! Yous should puts them between 2 pieces of glass and hangs them in your window!
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Wazeau says:

      I’ve actually made presents that I’ve given away by blocking a doily onto dark backing (the kind that is archival quality) and than framing it, which looked really cool IMHO. And I’ve heavily starched some little doilies and hung them up by threads for Christmas ornaments. You don’t really need the glass with enough starch!

  8. Flo says:

    Oh. my. goodness. I have just scrolled down saying wow all the way. They are amazing! Such talent. I can’t even choose a fave, though I do like the first shot after the cats and also the one that’s as wide as a pillowcase. And the one that’s kind of star shaped. Oh, and the pineapples. 🙂

    H

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks! I like them best while I make them but I think my favorite is still the last one, the big one Sass is sitting on. I like the blue, yellow, and green 🙂

  9. wow..lovely…you are a very talented person!

Leave a Reply

