Blocked!

DSCN3799

See what a difference a couple hundred pins made to my Entwife Marching shawl!

DSCN3804

This shawl is huge!  It took an hour to block it out.  That is a double bed.

We are all exhausted.

This entry was posted in Cats, Crochet, Nekoka, Sassafrass and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Blocked!

  1. It must be fun to play with 😉
    The human says I am a silly kitty and the shawl is very nice.
    Purrs

  2. Oh my, it’s beautiful 🙂 I bagsey it when you don’t want it anymore..LOL xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Wazeau says:

      thanks 🙂 I pulled the pins out and tried it on and I love it even more now that it is blocked. I am going to get someone to help me take pictures of it on me at work.

  3. Awesome piece of work 🙂

  4. It is soooo beautiful! Wow, wow, wow!

  5. littlemiao says:

    wow, beautiful!

    time for a nap?

  6. lemniscate47 says:

    Absolutely Beautiful shawl, Waseau!!

  7. Penelope says:

    That is one gorgeous wrap! I love it! You did a fabulous job!
    Nellie’s Mom
    Prior to Kzomo and blogging, a crochet-holic

    • Wazeau says:

      Thank you! I stopped crocheting for a long time but now I’m right back into it and loving it even more then I used to. And the new yarns, wow. I don’t remember anything like what you can get now way back when!

  8. Chancy and Mumsy (Mag) says:

    That is beautiful!!! You all looked really pooped out so you had to have worked hard. 🙂 Hugs and nose kisses

  9. I just clicked over from Rockin’ the Purple. Thank you for your kind comment at my blog.. 🙂 I see your beautiful shawl and the creative stamping L is doing and I think I need to be doing something artful. Good for the mind and emotions. I tried hooking wool, didn’t do it for me. But I love to knit, one looooooooooong scarf.. 😀 Your shawl is beautiful and I love seeing your kitties and birds!

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks! I can’t believe I stopped crocheting for so long, I forgot how good it makes me feel. Its something about the repetition and the feel of the yarn and the creating of something pretty out of nothing but a hook and that wonderful yarn. I may not be able to do doilies and threadwork anymore (eyes and hands can’t take it) but I can still crochet! I was so dumb to stop.

  10. Flo says:

    Wow! Forgive me for asking a question that might be obvious, but what is blocking – I can see that you’ve put pins in, but I was wondering what the purpose is.

    • Wazeau says:

      Wool and other natural fibers, as well as acrylics, can be wet-blocked to make it go from something all crumply to something elegant. It is basically stretching and shaping the finished object so it is even and the proper shape (triangular, square, circular, etc.) and any kind of lacy stitch is opened up, making it more visible. When it dries, the fiber “remembers” how it was shaped and stays that way. If you compare before and after pictures you can really see the difference! http://ravel.me/Wazeau/emc

Leave a Reply

