Yarn Diet Be Damned

DSCN4053

I spent Saturday at the 2013 Annual Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival with two women I met at my every other Thursday night Stitch and Bitch.  It was a spectacular day and I was being so good, sticking to my self-imposed yarn diet… right up to the very last section when I fell off the wagon with a vengeance and bought enough yarn for three new projects.

DSCN4055_edited-1

In addition to a whole lot of fleece and yarn and assorted knitting and spinning and jewelry and goat cheese and lamb burger vendors (yes, a whole lotta lamb was eaten – but NOT BY ME!), there were sheering competitions and sheep dog herding exhibitions and live music and spinning demonstrations.

DSCN4060

This fellow was totally rocking the dreadlocks. 

DSCN4063_edited-1

The dogs took their jobs very seriously.   The sheep were not enthusiastic. I think they much preferred resting pre-competition.

DSCN4057_edited-1

I completely forgot to take photos of the crowds and the vendor barns and tents and all the wonderful yarn.  It was so overwhelming and exciting that I barely remembered I had a camera.   I haven’t been out to a festival in so long I also completely forgot that that bright yellow ball of fire in the sky can burn the crap out of your forehead if you forget to wear the hat you brought specifically to protect said forehead. 

DSCN4065

And here are some photos of my yarn booty!  There were so many fabulous yarn dyers there.  I couldn’t leave without anything, but I really wanted to try to keep my spending down what with the job situation and the move to Tucson later this year.  But there were three specific yarns that just would not let me walk away.  The first, above, well what can I say – purples and blues with a sprinkling of green – my favorites all in one soft silky bundle of joy.

DSCN4067_edited-1

This beautiful fingering skein reminded me so much of my Merlin under bright sunlight – how could I resist.  You can’t see it very well in my photos (although I did take them outside to try to get the sun on them) but the stellina in this yarn gives it a gorgeous subtle sparkle.

DSCN4068_edited-1

And this gorgeous lace weight actually has shades of yellow as well as the green that is my Bandit.  I am thinking I might find some black lace and turn this into a  shawl that mimics my gorgeous conure.

DSCN3433_edited-1

I’m so happy I went despite blowing my yarn diet.  It was amazing to be surrounded by so many yarn and fleece enthusiasts.  Everyone was wearing their knit and crocheted garments, and the attitude of the crowd was so friendly and happy and thrilled to be there – people were talking to strangers like they were best friends as everyone fondled the yarn and squeezed the fleece and oohed and ahhed over all the colors.  And while there were a lot of men there, the women outnumbered the men by a huge margin and that was totally awesome to see.  All in all, it was a fantastic Saturday.

This entry was posted in Bandit, Crochet, Merlin, Out of the House!, Parrots and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Yarn Diet Be Damned

  1. Bernadette says:

    Oh, what fun! I always try to make it to our local Waynesburg Sheep and Fiber Festival–I’m so glad you had a chance to go and see all the events–AND ALL THAT YARN!!! I had to leave the vendor area for a while before I could get my head back on straight after looking at all that yarn in all those colors. Can’t wait to see what you make, especially that shawl you are thinking of! I’ve always thought the pineapple pattern looked an awful lot like wings–it’s used as angel wings in some patterns.

    • Wazeau says:

      It was completely overwhelming. Though I do a lot of yarn surfing on the internet, you just can’t really fall in love with a yarn and color until you see it and touch it and hug it to your face. There was a whole lot of that going on and not just by me! I’ve got three patterns in mind already but I always change my mind right up to the moment I stick yarn to hook that I won’t publicly commit until that last moment 🙂

  2. Penelope says:

    Wowwzers! That green is spectacular! Yous will lose Bandit in your shawl! It has been so long since Mommy gots to go to one of those, she forgot how much fun they could be! Thanks for sharing, yous made her evening.
    Kisses
    Nellie

    • Wazeau says:

      I know, I am such a hermit that when I heard the “Yes, I want to go!” coming out of my mouth I almost fainted. I am so very glad I went though, it was fantastic.

  3. minlit says:

    Your selections definitely reflect your avian companions….very nice.

  4. Flo says:

    Oh I LOVE those sheep with the dreads, they’re my faves… i used to see them at the shows in Scotland quite a lot but not so here in Australia!

    • Wazeau says:

      There were so many different sheep breeds on exhibit, I just wish I had taken more photos. But I must admit I looked at most of them just thinking, now what yarn has been created from your wool this year?

  5. nadbugs says:

    Stitch and Bitch!! Where do I join? And what a blast, that festival!!! Thank you so much for telling us about it! I bet this is going to be a memory you’ll cherish in Tucson. While you’re building new ones. Just great my dear!! Forward ho!

    • Wazeau says:

      You never know, there may be a Stitch and Bitch in your area! I found mine at meetup.com and I just wish I had been brave enough to go a long time ago. Once again, my own fears and inhibitions have kept me from many many a good time!

  6. Pingback: Photobombed, Again | Wazeau's World

Leave a Reply

