2014 – New Year, New Home

DSCN4647_edited-1

See that blue stuff?  That is the Arizona sky!  A few days ago I was shoveling snow in 9 degree weather.  Today I’m in short sleeves and it is almost 70, and I’m in my new duplex looking out at bright bright sun.

DSCN4648

This is the view from my driveway – blue blue sky and mountains!

DSCN4649

This is going to take a little getting used to.  People were giving me odd looks when I whipped out my camera in the grocery store parking lot.

DSCN4641

And this is what I see out of my kitchen window – more mountains over the back yard fence.  And if I was a little faster, I would have snapped a photo of the huge hawk on the telephone pole just to the left.  Did he freak out the birds when he flew not ten feet over my back yard.

DSCN4643

I have a cactus.  I am avoiding the cactus.  It is scary.

DSCN4618

The drive from Frazer, Pennsylvania to Tucson, Arizona in my little Chevy Cruize took us three days.  We drove twelve or so hours each day, with a little extra the last day.  We left on the third – I had to shovel snow and ice on my last day.  Thanks, Pennsylvania.  The car was packed so full there was hardly any room for Tony to move the seat back when he was driving, which made it pretty uncomfortable for him.  What a great son.  The birds and cats were actually very good but they were not happy about it.

DSCN4632

We were all extremely happy to see Tucson popping up on the street signs.

DSCN4608

It was a bit embarrassing when the movers took out the couches though.  See that bag of dead mice?   Yes, that is eighteen years of cats smacking their toys under the couch.

DSCN4645

Bandit and Merlin are so happy to be out of the travel cages, even if its not their nice big cages which are on the moving truck.  The cats are spending a lot of time sleeping, recuperating, but they are sleeping with me and cuddling so they have forgiven me for three days in their little travel cages.

DSCN4609

Now the long wait for my furniture to arrive.  Could be anytime next week – the driver had originally thought he’d be here on Saturday, but they got stuck in a storm so that won’t happen.  My son lent me his air mattress and a table and he gave me his old HUGE TV and set me up with netgear for Christmas, and Danielle was so nice getting some food and various sundries to hold me over, and I have internet so I have stuff to do, but I want my stuff! 

DSCN4633

I didn’t take nearly enough photos on the trip though.  I was either driving or too exhausted to remember I had a camera.  I am just so thankful Tony came with; I would never have been able to make the journey without him.  And thank you Tucson for welcoming me with your blue skies, warm weather, and my wonderful new little home.  I am now starting the new year with a new home that is is the same zip code as my son and his family.  I am very grateful.

This entry was posted in Out of the House!, That Which Must Be Done and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 2014 – New Year, New Home

  1. We wish you every happiness in your beautiful new home, blue sky’s, we have forgotten what they look like over the pond LOL xxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Wazeau says:

      I just can’t get over how bright and blue and sunny it is. Well it has only been three days, but still! And so warm! January and i’m in short sleeves and actually gets a bit hot when I go out to pick up mail. I had a washer and drying delivered today and was standing out there in the sun, and I think I almost started sweating!

  2. Dianna says:

    Congrats on the move. Glad to hear you’ll be near your son and his family. I would think that in itself would be reason to move across country! Happy New Year in your new spot.

    • Wazeau says:

      Indeed that is the only reason why I moved, to be near my son as he is my only family. My corporation closing down the local office just gave me the kickstart I needed. I mean, if I am going to work from home, it might as well be a new home in the same area my son is, right?

  3. June says:

    Arizona is a beautiful state…yay for getting away from the Pennsylvania snow!!

  4. I’m soo happy for you! No more snow! And loving family nearby! Oh, it couldn’t get much better. I had the feeling you were a bit lonely in PA. I’m grinning on your behalf! It’s a cute house, and no grass to cut, too! Keep clear of that cactus, I know those buggers from Florida. Owwwww.

    • Wazeau says:

      You are right, I was very lonely out there – my fault being a hermit at heart. Tony and Danielle and the boys (the have two) have been so welcoming and he says that I will be forced to have dinner at least once a week with them, not to mention babysitting, especially with the new baby on the way. I did NOT pack my lawn mower or weed whacker – not only do I not want to shovel snow anymore, I definitely don’t want to mow grass. Just let the cactus flourish!

      • That’s fantastic! I hope it isn’t too hard of a transition (I like to hermit, too). I was going to ask what will you do with your new-found time created from no more lawn/drive maintenance – but a new baby will surely be the answer to that! I bet they are hoping for a girl, with two boys already 🙂 Another boy is still a wonderful addition, of course!

  5. Patricia says:

    How very exciting. Lots of work to move but when you end up with now cold and snow and closer to family so worth it. I moved from Norrtheast Ohio to SC many years ago. I cannot image living in the Snowbelt again. Looking forward to your posts from your new home.

    • Wazeau says:

      Thank you! Once I get adjusted and back into a routine that doesn’t involve upending my life, I hope to get back into regular posts again. Nekoka, Sassafrass, Merlin, and Bandit are all looking forward to normalcy – and that includes blogging! I am not sure how much I’m going to like the whole working-from-home thing, but change and adjusting are my 2014 themes!

  6. Annie says:

    Absolutely Delighted for You All, Dear Cyn!!
    You made it!!
    I really felt for you when you were (appropriately) horrified by the thought of moving home.. way back when. Delighted that you all managed to get there in one piece.
    The rest will be a breeze!!
    I Love the thought of you, suddenly, being at 70 degrees!!
    Love your not-so-little house, too.
    I look forward to helping you settle in and get this next phase of your Life up and running :))
    Happy New Year to You All from Me and Sweetie :)) xxx

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks, Annie! 2013 was quite a year for me and I just hope this year in my new home gets me settled back down in my mind, my emotions, my work, and my family life. I’m tired of trauma, I want boredom again – and time to do what I really love – be with my family, relax with my pets, and blog!

  7. nadbugs says:

    I am SO happy to see this wonderful post!! Wondered what you were up to, seeing your “likes” on the blog but no posts from you — YAYAYAY what a huge move for you four! (Love the dead mice.) And YES re that cactus. Those things are monsters! Their little fine hair-like spines are the absolute worst. Oh YAY! I can’t wait to hear more.

    • Wazeau says:

      Change is very traumatic for me and I find it very hard so I end up pulling way back from life to try to balance things, and blogging and keeping up with others blogs became too much. I really really want things to settle back down so I can get back to what I consider my “normal” life – but in this new location, and with the addition of being around my son and his family – I still need to adjust to the whole “work from home” thing too. But I can finally see the end in sight and I feel like I’m starting to get back to myself after a whole year of tornado. I did try to keep up with a few of my favorite blogs but I have a lot of catching up to do.

      • nadbugs says:

        I totally get this. Being “in prison” with recuperating Barney (confined in one room the two of us, or 3 when Bugs deigned to join in and try to beat Barney up) was misery. I can’t wait for you to get set up to where you’re comfortable again, and you can come back to regular posting. I have so missed you!

  8. It looks BRILLIANT !! Happy New Year, and all the very best wishes for 2014. 🙂 x

  9. Pandionna says:

    Wow, a near cross-country drive with pets! I remember driving up to NY from VA and my Green Cheek dozing but my Nanday clinging to the bars of his travel cage like, “Mom, don’t go anywhere. Mom. Mom! MOM!!!” Not one for adventure, he. Congrats on the new digs and the new chapter of your life!

  10. Oldcat says:

    Congrats on getting the move done. I moved from Chicago to LA with two cats which was a chore. One thing I did was mail a box or two to myself so I got some sundries before the truck and didn’t have to fit them in the car.

    I’m sure you will adjust some to the weather – I remember when living out east 50 degrees in the fall would be cold but the same in early spring would be hot. Now I’m better at the 100 degree days and not so good at the 50 degree ones.

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks – I wish I had mailed some stuff ahead of time, I could have sent it to my son and had it here and saved some car space. I had actually bought a roofbag but we managed to cram everything inside to try to avoid having to load and unload the bag each stop – which was good considering all the snow we had to deal with.

      I am sure I’ll be okay when it gets hotter. When I was here looking for houses this summer it was pretty dern hot and I actually, finally, felt I was warm enough 🙂

  11. Bernadette says:

    I’m so glad to hear from you! What a journey, I wouldn’t have been able to do that alone. I’m so glad you had your son, and the weather cooperated, and the cats and birds cooperated, and you are “home”. I know losing your job was difficult, and the move was even more difficult, but you did it and I think you’re going to be so happy you’ll wonder why you didn’t do it sooner. Give pets to all the animals! We all look forward to hearing updates!

    • Wazeau says:

      I was very fortunate in that I was offered a position that allowed remote work, so I ended up NOT losing my job when the office closed. And if I can work remotely why not be remote in my son’s city 🙂 But I don’t think I would have made this move no matter how much I missed my son if the threat of lay-off hadn’t happened. So I guess I need to be grateful for that!

  12. Congratulations! I am so happy for you!! I am just now getting caught up with you!!!

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks… and now that its done I’m getting caught back up with all the blogs I read and I’m going to try to get back to posting more regularly again… I don’t know how the world has managed without steady photos of Sassy, Neko, Bandit, and Merlin!

Leave a Reply

