Wool Shawls for Arizona? Hey, It Can Get Chilly At Night!

DSCN4790

As I may have mentioned, crochet is what helped me stay sane over the last year while I dealt with planning and executing my move across the country.  This pattern is called Persephone and is done in an Apple Tree Knits gradient lace which I think turned out lovely draped around my cactus.

DSCN4792

My Stormy Alita actually looks pretty in the sunshine but I really like the way it wears.  I picked up the lace yarn at a fair back in New Jersey from BitsyKnits.  I love this yarn, its so squishy and soft and easy to crochet.

It is so hard to take self photos with a timer; I need someone to model for me rather than me!

DSCN4820

I think this one may be my favorite of the new three shawls though.  It is so light and airy and it drapes perfectly but is large enough to wrap twice around if I want to.  I mean, look how big it is!  It is also made using the BitsyKnits Squish lace I got at the fair.

DSCN4832

I’ve got another shawl completed and ready to get blocked but that won’t happen till the weekend, and I have a second that is almost finished, so yeah, even though I’ve finished moving and am almost completely unpacked (just some boxes of books and CDs left that I’m not sure where I’m going to put them and maybe they will just end up in the garage), I’m still crocheting like a madwoman!  Next up on the list though isn’t a shawl… here’s a hint.

This free pattern originally published by Doreen Knitting Books, in Baby Gems, Volume 100, in 1950.

That’s right, my son and his girlfriend finally got the results and they are having my GRANDDAUGHTER to go along with her two boys that made me an instant grandmother already.  So enough shawls, its on to baby blankets and dresses and cute little bonnets and bibs Smile

This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wool Shawls for Arizona? Hey, It Can Get Chilly At Night!

  1. Bernadette says:

    The shawls are lovely! I’m way behind on mine, but crochet was what kept me sane through years of sitting with my mother in the hospital and taking her to doctor appointments, so I understand. You made great use of your thinking time! The yarn is lovely on the top one! Do like the orange one, reminds me of a doily made long ago. Have a hall with the baby clothes! I just saw this pattern come through.

    • Wazeau says:

      Thank you! There are so many things I love about crochet and one is the memories you work into the stitches – I can still remember what I was thinking and going through when I wrap one of my afghans around me.

  2. Fantastic shawls ! and Congratulations on your great news 🙂 x

    • Wazeau says:

      Thank you 🙂 This little girl is going to be so spoiled with two older brothers and a daddy she will be able to wrap around her little finger, I’m sure 🙂

  3. Msmouse7 says:

    Gorgeous crochet!! You are right; the cactus is the perfect holder. Seeing your crochet makes me yearn to get back to the craft. Congrats on settling in after your move and a granddaughter on the way.

    • Wazeau says:

      I went so many years without touching yarn and when I started back up, I immediately felt so much better and more relaxed. I had forgotten how satisfying handicrafts can be.

  4. nadbugs says:

    I absolutely love the purple one on you! What a great idea, looks like it’ll just stay on where you put it and you don’t have to cope with all that adjusting and thisnthat like you do with a shawl. Really neat! It, and you, are just lovely.

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks! I like the purple too, it reminds me so much of some of the thunderstorm skies in Pennsylvania which I will miss (I’m definitely NOT missing the snow and ice they are apparently getting again today!)

  5. Patricia says:

    Beautiful crochet work and happy news. I love to crochet…working on a baby blanket for a cyber-friend now. Have you ever thought of selling your work? Like on Ebay or Etsy? Or even craft fairs.

    • Wazeau says:

      I may just have to, I’m running out of drawer space! Not to mention some of the heavier worsted weight shawls aren’t exactly desert material 🙂 The problem with selling handiwork is if you actually charge what you spend in hours you’ll never get it sold. But I guess getting back enough to cover the yarn with some left over for more yarn might be worth it.

  6. Sallyann says:

    The shawls are lovely, and how wonderful to be making baby clothes. 😀

Leave a Reply

