Morning at the Tucson Botanical Gardens

Tucson Botanical Gardens, Cactus area

After two days in a row of rain and clouds, I awoke this morning to brilliant blue sunny skies, so I finally made good on my wish to visit the Tucson Botanical Gardens.  I was especially interested in their Butterfly Garden, which is toted as “one of the best butterfly houses in the country” on their webpage.

I was not disappointed!  Although I did forget to bring my good camera so had to make due with my phone, which is smarter than I am – so much so that it refuses my orders to zoom in.  A lot of what I took turned out too small or blurry.  Sigh. 

It was very chilly out – there is snow on the mountain tops, and I had to wear a long sleeve shirt AND a jacket!  When I went in the butterfly house my glasses immediately fogged over.  When I finally could see, this lovely gentlemen was on the window right in front of me.

The butterflies were having a field day, be-bopping all over, utterly gorgeous.   I stood just at the entrance with my mouth hanging open in fascination, before I even tried to get some photos.  There wasn’t a whole lot of cooperation going on between my finger and the flutterers.  The orchids and other flowers were just as breathtaking as the butterflies.

I think I stayed in the butterfly house at least thirty minutes, enjoying the feel of the moist air, the potent smell of the dirt, the flowers, and the constant motion in the air as the butterflies dive-bombed the honeypots, the flowers, and occasionally my hair.

I really wish I had a green thumb, but I can’t even keep the cat-grass alive in my house.  My fantasies of a garden, cactus, flowers, or otherwise, will have to remain just that – fantasies.

Outside the butterfly house are incredibly well-maintained, huge, and diverse gardens.  There are areas devoted to our local Sonoran desert flora as well as other geographic desert locales full of cactus, succulents and aloes .  

IMG_20141219_101758544_HDR

There are also exhibits dedicated to native gardens, backyard birding, herb gardens, flower gardens, and even a Zen rock garden.  Not to mention the occasional nod to the holiday season Smile

IMG_20141219_105440212

They have a huge garden devoted to irises, which are my favorite flower, but unfortunately it isn’t the right season for them.  But two of them were generous enough to bloom just for me, in white… 

IMG_20141219_105446917

and, my favorite, in purple.   Tucson is just that gracious.

IMG_20141219_105615824_HDR

I am marking my calendar for next Christmas to see the luminary exhibit.  A lovely lady at the gift store told me they put out over four thousand luminaries and it turns the gardens into something magical.  I am looking forward to it.

IMG_1558243312420250

And okay, here is the obligatory Proud Grandma photograph of the month.  OMG, SQUEEE!  Lilith was born to pose.  Far be it for me to deny the internet her latest.

This entry was posted in Out of the House! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Morning at the Tucson Botanical Gardens

  1. msmouse7 says:

    Well, the butterflies do not compare to Lilith. You are correct – she was indeed born to pose. So darn cute!!!! I too love iris, probably because you plant them and walk away. I have been to a butterfly place on Vancouver Island, Canada. It was also spectacular and interesting. Even my daughter, who was only 4 at the time, really enjoyed the flutterbys.

    Have a wonderful holiday and the best for 2015!

    • Wazeau says:

      I have my eye on some iris bulbs that supposedly will do okay out here, so once it gets closer to spring I’m going to try my luck. Have a great holiday!

  2. Bernadette says:

    I like the Santa hat on the cactus. I love all botanic gardens and I’d love to see this one, so different from PA. And your granddaughter, she knows all about how charming she is!

    • Wazeau says:

      She’s a spoiled daddy’s girl already that is true. I was really surprised how beautiful the gardens were, another big plus in the “I’m Glad I Moved to Tucson” column.

  3. Tucson is so pretty, even in the hottest months. And Lilith is a real doll baby ! Post all the photos of her you want…iTmis after all, your blog

    • Wazeau says:

      I haven’t yet had a moment where I regretted in the least moving out here – even the two rainy days in a row had gorgeous sunsets! And my granddaughter is a doll and just the happiest baby I’ve ever met. I’m a lucky woman.

  4. nadbugs says:

    Wow. Totally wonderful, Wazzie. Really.

  5. Candace says:

    I didn’t know they had Botanical Gardens there. I know about the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum, of course, but didn’t know about this. I’d like to go ASDM soon as I know they have raptor free flights daily, and I’ve heard they’re awesome.

    • Wazeau says:

      The raptor free flights at the ASDM are awesome! I was standing next to a much taller fellow, and the eagles and owls repeatedly passed so close over his head they were knocking his hat around. It was a short show but they do two each day with separate sets of birds. It was awesome.

Leave a Reply

