Baby, It’s Cold Outside

DSCN5689

We had a very cold week which actually gave us snow on New Years Day.  Although when I dared to post a photo on Facebook and called it “Snow”, I was sort of laughed at.  Around here, “Expecting a Hard Freeze” is a major news event which precipitates my entire neighborhood to cover cactus, bushes, and baby trees with blankets.

IMG_20150101_075331722_HDR

We could have simply called it “frost” and got away with it, but hey!  Look how pretty the mountains and the dirt in my back yard look!

IMG_20150101_075338530

Frozen white stuff which makes the branches bend under its weight counts as “snow” in my book!

DSCN5696

This is the view I enjoy every day out my back yard.  Doesn’t Mount Lemmon look spectacular with snow?

IMG_20150105_071941808_HDR

This morning, my first day back at work after a three week vacation, turned out to be spectacular sunrise treat.  And the cold snap is over (at least for now), so yes, I was perfectly comfortable in my jacket with just a tee-shirt under it. 

IMG_20150105_071654933_HDR

I try to take a brisk walk around my neighborhood every morning, but I must admit I slacked off a bit last week when it was just that cold.  I mean, I still have my winter coat but damned if I want to actually use it!  I am already spoiled rotten by Tucson’s weather.  I don’t miss Pennsylvania at all.

IMG_20141231_102618289

I also have to admit I did not do a whole lot over my vacation.  I spent a lot of time on my couch puttering away on my latest crochet project, a log cabin blanket.  Being as it was quite chilly, my cats indulged me considerably. 

IMG_20141229_113314474_HDR

Sassafrass spent a lot of time on my lap.  She did not need any coaxing at all to climb aboard.

IMG_20141228_110616272_HDR

Nekoka alternated between warming my left side and my right side.  He makes a wonderful hand warmer.  His coat is so soft, I cannot resist.

IMG_20141226_095849562_HDR

Bandit, of course, is my official neck warmer.  He takes his job very seriously.

IMG_20150103_163110218

And the birds and I ate way too many meals in front of the TV.  Spoiled lazy parrots!   But right in the middle of all my self-indulgent vacationing, Christmas happened.

IMG_20141225_081938714

“These are all for me, correct?”

DSCN5665_edited-1

Sorry, Sassafrass, but no!  The presents were for the humans in my life!  The reason I moved to Tucson – I got to spend the holidays with my family.  And it was so worth it.  

This entry was posted in Bandit, Cats, Family, Merlin, Nekoka, Out of the House!, Parrots, Sassafrass and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Baby, It’s Cold Outside

  1. Bernadette says:

    Living happily ever after! Wonderful view, lovely family!

  2. I’m glad you had a wonderful holiday!

  3. Beautiful photos 🙂

    I was just wondering if I could ask you a little about parrot care? My Mum is thinking about getting one and has wanted one for awhile. Is there anything you can tell us that we would need to know beforehand that maybe they don’t include in all the books she’s reading!

    xxxx

    • Wazeau says:

      Do a whole lot of research and spend time, if you can, with someone who has the type of parrot you like so you can see and hear first hand how very loud and very messy and very needy they can be. Having a parrot is a lot of work!

      • We “pet-sat” my friend’s African Grey and it was honestly like dealing with a naughty toddler half the time! My Mum just fell in love!

        xxxx

        • Wazeau says:

          I’ve never had or interacted too much with the Grey’s but they certainly are gorgeous. Check out the Parrot Nation link on the right – Patricia Sund has greys and loves them. Also Heckled by Parrots – Rebecca O’Conner has a grey and she writes some really good “parrot as pets” books/articles – A Parrot for Life is a great book.

  4. Patricia says:

    Looked like snow to me but then I live in SC. I grew up in NE Ohio so I do know “real” snow. Snow id relative to where you live. Great pictures. Know you loved being with family especially now that there is a new peep to spoil.

  5. pegoleg says:

    Wow, your view is spectacular (and so are the photos.) But calling that snow? Pshaw sneers the Illinoisan.

  6. Candace says:

    Looks like snow to me! You have quite the view from your backyard!

Leave a Reply

