Birthday… with Pails

DSCN5935

I celebrated my fifty-fourth birthday yesterday with a project I’ve been contemplating for awhile.  I have been wanting to do some gardening, and my pinterest has been filling up with various do-it-yourself inexpensive gardening ideas.   I really liked one I saw using some metal buckets.  My idea was to substitute some cheap plastic pails, and I found some that made me giggle at Walmart.  (Sigh – yes, I shop at Walmart sometimes).  Then I hit the spring sale at Home Depot for flowers. I had already picked up some hooks and mesh and potting soil at Ace (which I like much better for that sort of thing, because the employees at my local Ace are so wonderfully helpful and friendly).

DSCN5936

I drilled holes in the pails and put some mesh at the bottom to keep the dirt in.  Aren’t the colors cheerful!  And I just love the little shovels.

DSCN5937

Then I got my hands dirty!  I put two to three flowers in each pail, which made sense while I was doing it but now I’m thinking they won’t have much room to grow, and I may have to pull some out.  But we will see.

DSCN5943

Then came the hard part – drilling holes for the hooks in the posts that hold up the porch in the back yard.  I thought they were made of wood.  Apparently they have cement or something in the middle as reinforcement, because I broke three drill bits making enough of a hole to get the hooks in deep enough so that I could finish screwing them in.  But how cute it looks!

DSCN5944

I put three pails each on two of the posts, and two pails on the middle one.  I love how they turned out.  I sit out on my back porch in the late afternoon and crochet, watching the bunnies and the birds and my flower pails, and just feel so incredibly happy and thankful for my life.

DSCN5940

You just can’t have too many purple, yellow, blue and pink pails full of annuals.

IMG_20150422_102509489

Or too much of a lap full of a happy purring cat enjoying ear and chin scratches.

IMG_20150423_103503191_HDR

Or a sun-kissed belly on a window seat.

IMG_20150413_095923772_HDR

Or my best buddy cuddled up against my neck.  I am truly a lucky woman.

This entry was posted in Bandit, Miscellaneous, Nekoka, Out of the House!, Sassafrass and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Birthday… with Pails

  1. msmouse7 says:

    Happy birthday to you🎶🎂🎶
    The pails look fantastic; bright colors with bright flowers. I bet they will look even better as the flowers grow. What a splendid idea. Don’t you just love Pinterest for all their great ideas.

  2. Patricia says:

    Happy Birthday! Your flower project looks great. Very creative.

    • Wazeau says:

      Thanks, Patricia! I can’t help but smile everytime I see those colorful pails against my desert back yard 🙂 I can’t wait to see how the pails fill up as the flowers grow. And now my son and daughter-in-law got me another big pot and some cherry tomato starters and I’m hoping to actually be able to eat something I’ve grown!

      • Patricia says:

        I have a small balcony where I grow tomato plants and flowers. And catnip, of course. It is lovely to see all the bright colors after winter’s duller colors.

  3. Oldcat says:

    The only thing I would watch is that plastic can get brittle with long exposure to strong sunlight. You might have to replace your pails every so often.

  4. nadbugs says:

    Big smiles coming your way!

  5. Happy Birthday ! 🙂 and great photos !

Leave a Reply

