Happy Thanksgiving a Few Days Late

It has been so long since I’ve written a post I almost forgot which application I use to do so.  Luckily after my Windows 10 upgrade, it looks like Windows Live Writer is still functioning so lets dust off the cobwebs and get to the gratitude.

IMG_20151125_104058157

I can’t believe how fast this year has gone by!  When I quit my job back in January, I analyzed and worried and stressed and played all sorts of mind games with myself about how long I could survive – and if I could survive – without a full time job.  Nekoka thought I was an idiot for worrying and he was right.

IMG_20151115_164034829

This has been the best year ever.  I am so grateful that I am here in Tucson with my family.  I have enough money coming in from the rental of my townhouse in Pennsylvania and additional funds from pet sitting and selling my shawls on Etsy that the dent into my savings hasn’t been that horrifying.

IMG_20151112_220959630

Everyone has fully adjusted to Tucson now that our second year here is coming to a close.  Every day I look out at the gorgeous desert sunrises and sunsets and marvel at how the shadows of the clouds on the mountains make the same scene new each day.

IMG_20151122_135947467

I smile every time I gaze out my kitchen window.  I thought I would really miss Penn’s Woods, but you know something?  I don’t.

IMG_20151117_152247125

There is just no getting too much of this.

Or of all three of my grandkids bouncing around in the trampoline.

IMG_20151118_170610705

Now that the year is drawing to a close, I am going to have to start thinking about finding some additional part time work.  I love the opportunities I have had this year pet sitting for some of the wonderful women I’ve met at my Knit Nights.  Seriously, what can be better than spending time visiting people’s pets and helping them be comfortable while waiting for their family to get home… and getting paid for it!  I don’t want to start it on my own as an official business so I am going to try to hook up with one of the already established pet sitting services.  I think I can get by quite happily for a long time doing that!

FB_IMG_1446394550835

And then maybe break down and get a dog of my own.  I have been obsessively thinking about adding a dog to my family for months now and keep managing to talk myself out of it by considering the effect it would have on the cats and parrots, who have never in their lives been in the same room as a dog.  But I really really want one!  There are so many dogs in the local shelter and I could help make one of their lives so much happier.  And wouldn’t that be something to be grateful for!

IMG_20151017_103349245

Nekoka doesn’t think so Smile with tongue out

This entry was posted in Bandit, Cats, Crochet, Family, Merlin, Nekoka, Parrots, Sassafrass and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving a Few Days Late

  1. Bernadette says:

    Happy Thanksgiving! So glad you’re all together and you’re happy with what you’re doing. Go ahead, get a dog, introduce slowly and they’ll get used to it.

  2. Patricia says:

    So good to see you! Sounds like you have a wonderful life out west. Pet sitting sounds like it is meant for you. Hope you can get in with a pet sitting service.

  3. nadbugs says:

    A huge YAY to be hearing from you again! I remember well the stressing but canNOT believe it’s been two years. Well, it is just delightful to see you so happy, with those adorable children, homonids and otherwise. And the good thing about getting a dog is that then you will have to write more. Much happiness all around!!

    • Wazeau says:

      I thought not working would give me more time rather than less time to blog 🙂 And you guys, such enablers! But I haven’t had a dog since I was a child, and now I have this big walled in back yard and its just obsessing me. I just think it would be so traumatic for my babies though. They are so spoiled; they would hate having some mongrel push his way into my heart and their home 😛

  4. Happy belated thanksgiving! You sure do have a lovely family to enjoy – and I agree, the move was wonderful for you!
    A dog… oh my. I’m sure the parrots would settle in without too many troubles, but the cats not so much. I’ve found kittens with older dogs works, but never an older cat with any dog. It’s not war, but it isn’t cuddles, either. As long as everyone has space to feel safe, and especially that the cats have high places and other hidey-holes to feel safe from a dog, it could work. It would be a lot of work, of course!

    • Wazeau says:

      This is what I keep telling myself – it would be so hard on the cats! I should just wait. Why put them through it just because I’m suddenly obsessed with getting a dog. If I wait long enough either my obsession will die out… or the cats will (I kid! I kid!)…

Leave a Reply

